Returning the Favor Character Interview: Claudia James, Marchioness of Trewin

January 18 will the one year anniversary of RETURNING THE FAVOR’s release with Boroughs Publishing Group as part of their Lunchbox Romance line. In honor of that, I’ll post “interviews” with each character leading up to Saturday! (If you’ve read RTF – or haven’t read it yet – and have any questions you’d like to ask the questions just leave them in the comments!)

Leave a comment below (or on any of the upcoming interviews) to enter for a chance to win a digital copy of RETURNING THE FAVOR. 3 copies up for grabs! =] Open to anyone who can read an ebook.

Next up, we have the mother of the heroine, Claudia James, Marchioness of Trewin.

=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=

I want to imagine interviewing a lady would be easier than interviewing a lord. After all, we share a camaraderie found in being part of the same sex. However, I have been sitting in the drawing room for the past fifteen minutes waiting on Claudia James, Marchioness of Trewin, and she has yet to make an appearance. Oh, the butler has supplied a constant stream of tea and biscuits, but come on.

I know yesterday I said I’d meet with the other characters on my turf, but have you ever tried to tell a marchioness what to do? https://priscillashay.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/19c89-ribbons-and-lace.jpgLady Trewin responded to my request of a change of location with a hastily scribbled note of “That is simply not possible.”

So. Here I am. Parchment and graphite, again, in hand.

I was certain the marquess spoke to her about out meeting yesterday. She was most likely trying to make me sweat; trying to keep me out of her family’s business. Rumor had it, the marchioness was VERY protective of her family. (It was working o.o’.)

Ten minutes later, Lady Trewin breezed into the room. And in that moment, I understood why Colin first thought she was an angel. She had an imposing demeanor, yet kind small. A massive amount of power held in a petite body. Her light brown hair, twined with silver strands, was pulled in a messy knot at the base of her neck. Her day dress fell gracefully, cinched about her slightly rounded middle. Faint lines bracketed her eyes and lips.

She glanced at me, then around the room. She nodded. “You are alone. Perfect. Has your maid already met my servants?”

I wasn’t sure how she would take “I don’t have a maid” so I settled for nodding.

“Good.” She turned toward the door. “Follow me. There is much to be done.”

I scrambled to my feet and trailed behind her. We settled on the second floor in the sitting room adjoining her bedchamber. It was a mess.

Ribbons and lace were strewn across her writing table. Parchment littered the floor. Swaths of silk and chiffon were thrown haphazardly over chair backs.

“My lady, are you making a dress?”

She stared at me. “Of course. What else would I be doing? Such a silly question.” She gave me her back and rummaged through the ribbons. “Silly girl.”

“Are you having a party?”

“A party?” She glared at me. “Do you consider the wedding of my only daughter a mere party? It shall be a fete, a gala! John will have to give the servants the following day off. It will be the most magnificent celebration these country folk have ever seen!”

I blinked, getting a little excited.

“Is Catherine betrothed?”

“No,” She muttered. “The silly girl would rather cry in her room than admit her true feelings.” The marchioness grabbed a dark green ribbon. Holding it above her head, she shook it at me. “I have been planning this wedding for six years. Six! She will not ruin it.” The crumpled ribbon was tossed aside. “Perhaps, lace? Lace would complement Catherine’s frame.”

“How could she possibly ruin her own wedding? She is not even engaged yet.” I jotted down the materials she was considering. Maybe I’ll run them by Catherine later in the week.

Engaged? Madame, Catherine has been “engaged” in a courtship with the sweetest boy for the past six years. It is about time the two realized it. Everyone can see it. I have nudged them toward each other.” She frowned. “That boy has ill-formed notions of family. It has taken some time, but I believe I have finally convinced him that our family is here to stay. And that he is part of it. An integral member.”

I arched a brow. First Colin was a ‘stubborn child,’ now he’s ‘the sweetest boy.’

“And is it any wonder?” She continued. “That father of his. Terrible. A terrible man.” She unfurled a length of white chiffon. “Abandoning his own son. Why, I had half a mind to – ” She shook her head. “He is quite lucky my husband convinced me to take another course of action.”

“Colin has had a difficult childhood, I presume?”

“Colin is the kindest, most caring boy I have ever met.”

“What about your son?”

She waved a hand. “Matthew is my son. Of course, I adore him.”

“Even after his accident?”

The marchioness froze. She carefully placed the chiffon on the chair and pivoted. The laugh lines that made her look angelic now deepened giving her an aged, severe look. I tried to melt into the back of the chair as she towered over me.

“Matthew is my son. I loved him before his accident. I loved him after. And I will love him even after I have passed from this earth. Neither you, nor any of those parasites in London will have anything to say about him.” She snatched the parchment out of my hands. “Do you understand me?”

I nodded shakily.

“Now leave.”

“But – ”

“Get. Out.”

=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=

Uh, we’ll continue this tomorrow folks…

Interviews so far:

John James, Marquess of Trewin (Father of the heroine)

https://priscillashay.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/returningthefavor_cover.jpg

 

 

Published: January 18, 2013 (Boroughs Publishing Group)

Synopsis: At thirteen, Lady Catherine James fell out of a tree and into Colin Barringer’s heart. Now six years later, he’s determined to secure her hand in marriage, but will a childhood tragedy keep them apart?

BUY THE BOOK:

All Romance Books ** Amazon **  Boroughs Publishing Group ** Diesel-eBooks ** iTunes ** Kobo ** Nook ** Smashwords

One thought on “Returning the Favor Character Interview: Claudia James, Marchioness of Trewin

  1. Pingback: Returning the Favor Character Interview: Matthew James, Lord James. | Priscilla Shay, author

Leave a Reply

