Writer Wednesday: Mina Lobo

LET’S GET MYTHICAL!
I love love love mythology and Persephone and Hades? I was sold on Mina’s new book before she finished reading us her synopsis.
Mina Lobo writes dark and whimsical romances, dodges the slings and arrows of her outrageous college-aged son, and feels compelled to do things in threes. She digs comedic horror, alternative rock, and Belgian chocolates. (See?)

Mina’s usual haunts include:

Some Dark Romantic   Facebook  Twitter  Tumblr

 

 

Me: What inspired THAT FATAL KISS?

Mina: I’ve been into Greek mythology since I was a kid. The myth of Persephone’s kidnap by Hades turned me on, even before I consciously understood what it meant to be “turned on.” From the beginning, I imagined Hades as strong, powerful, darkly, swooningly handsome, unerring (setting aside the whole kidnapping thing), and authoritative. That this (in my mind) breath-takingly foxy god wanted Persephone so much he snatched her away to his lair in the Underworld really…uh…revved my motor. And, according to some ancient sources, their marriage was one of the very few happy and monogamous ones among the gods, so rock on with your bad immortal selves.

Me: What made you decide to self-publish?

Mina: After a few years of trying, and failing, to engage the interest of literary agents, I pulled a sheet from the Book of GPS and recalculated my route. I firmly, in the depths of my being, believed in That Fatal Kiss, and I decided I had to get it out into the world, no matter the lack of support from an agent or publisher. I’d put some money aside and instead hired the support of a copy-editor, cover artist, proofreader, and book formatter, determined to put out the best book I possibly could. It was all a bit of a mad experience, but I’ve learned a lot, and I’m really proud of myself for doing it. Yay, me! 🙂

Me: What is your typical day like?

Mina: An eternity in Tartarus. (In Greek mythology, Tartarus is a region of the Underworld in which the most depraved of sinners suffer for their crimes against humanity and gods.) LOL, J/K. Mostly. I have a demanding day job which exhausts me. Fitting in the writing, blogging, and “onlining” leaves me with very little time for things like a social life.

Me: Name 2 things you consider yourself to be very good at.

Mina: I flatter myself that I have a way with words. And I’m a singer. I ain’t no diva but, you know, I do all right, when I’m in good voice

Me: What is your next project?

Mina: A mini-anthology of three short stories, as I want to show my more “modern voice.” In terms of fiction, my readers will have come to know the “Homer meets Jane Austen” voice I used in That Fatal Kiss, so I want folks to know I’m not a one-trick pony. Two of the shorts are paranormal/supernatural stories set in the present, and the third tale will follow Hades and Persephone as they settle into married life (with all the horrors that entails). Coming in December! (God willing and the police permitting, as my Portuguese ancestors would say.)

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 100 years into the future, what ONE (nonliving) item do you take with you?

Mina: Uh…a honking-huge crate of strike-anywhere matches. ‘Cause by then, The Machines will have taken over and the remaining humans huddling in caves will need a new/old source of light and heat.

Me: What’s your pet peeve?

Mina: Gah, where to begin, where to begin…well, apart from hearing/reading the widespread, God-awful grammar that threatens to undo civilization as we know it’s paper cuts. Those really hurt.

Me: What is your favorite quote?

Mina: I hate picking favorites, it feels so limiting. But one I find I often sing to myself when life seems intolerable is:

Hold on! It’s never enough.

It’s never enough until your heart stops beating.

The deeper you get, the sweeter the pain,

don’t give up the game until your heart stops beating.

from the song Shellshock by New Order.

Me: If you could have picked your own name, what would it be?

Mina: The funny thing is, I did; Mina Lobo is my pen name, chosen because both names are Portuguese and easy to pronounce. But lately I’ve been wishing I’d opted for Marina instead. I dig the connection to the ocean that comes with that name. Plus, it’s got 3 syllables, and I’ve this neurotic thing for doing things in threes, so…yeah. Marina. Maybe that’ll be the pen name for my pen name someday.

Me: Pen/pencil or computer?

Mina: I default to smoothly scripting pen and pretty notebook; it’s just in my comfort zone, you know? But I did try composing a tale via computer keyboard for NaNoWriMo one year and found it exhilarating. And terrifying. But mostly exhilarating.

About That Fatal Kiss

Life-giving Persephone seeks a mate but the goddess’ mother frustrates her plans. Then Hades, King of the Underworld, spirits Persephone away to rule with him below, as his bride. Yet, even as she awaits rescue, Persephone aches to be consumed by the fire in the dark lord’s immortal soul.

The Teaser

Hades said, closing the distance between them. “I have taken you with your father’s consent, as custom allows. You are in my kingdom, under my rule, and if you have any care for your continued well-being, you will get into my bed. Now. And with the removal of the pins that held together the black cloth about his waist, he stood naked before her.

The anger warming Persephone clashed with another fire that roared to life within her. She choked on a breath and turned her face from him. “Be warned; I will resist you with the full force of my being, through violent means, if necessary.

His large, unyielding hands encircled the soft flesh of her upper arms as he said, “If you must. Though your surrender to me would prove more satisfying to us both.

That Fatal Kiss is available for purchase in e-book format at:

Amazon | B & N | Smashwords

Print version: Coming soon!

3 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Mina Lobo

  1. LOL, reading that opening header made me think of that Oliva Newton-John song, “Let’s Get Physical.” 😀

    Thanks so much for hosting me on your blog today, Priscilla!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

