Eid-ul-Fitr and WHAT DO I SAY?!

What is Eid ul Fitr?

First, Eid-ul-Fitr is NOT part of Ramadan. Ramadan has ended and Eid-ul-Fitr falls on the first day of the following month, Shawwal. (You can see the list of months here.)

Eid-ul-Fitr is an important religious holiday that marks the end of Ramadan and means “the festival of Breaking the fast”. Basically, we go to the mosque in the morning, prayer, and then spend the rest of the day house hopping and eating. As long as I’ve been attending Eid prayer, I’ve never fully grasped the order. I don’t know why it never sticks and I usually end up following the older people around me. Only…now I’ve become one of them and some of the younger girls follow me -.-

You’re not allowed to fast. It’s a day where you’re supposed to spend with your family and community. Eating, celebrating, being happy and joyous! It’s our Christmas lol (We don’t have a lot of holiday. Two, I think.)

The younger kids have lots of money to look forward to, When we were younger we would each get a dollar and IT WAS THE BEST THING IN THE WORLD. Then, we graduated to $5, $10, $20. Eventually, we got jobs and that stopped >_< When I was younger there were also a lot more people involved. However, most of the people got married and moved or just left the state. (A lot of them are in Florida.)

I’ll be up at 7am, getting dressed to go to the mosque. We’ll pray around 9-9:30, then start the adventure! I’m not entirely sure of the plan this year, but there should be about 10-15 houses and different kinds of food involved!

Follow me on Twitter: @PShay339 I’ll be posting pics all day – my outfit, food, other people’s outfits – as long as my battery lasts. It’ll be fun!

*My shoes never came. They ARE in NY, but they won’t get here in time :/

What do I SAY?!

That’s an easy one 😉 Eid Mubarak! (or happy Eid)

3 thoughts on “Eid-ul-Fitr and WHAT DO I SAY?!

  1. Wow, that’s an amazing way to celebrate, grazing through 10 to 15 families’ houses! I do remember seeing some of the pics come up in my Twitter feed, they were fun!

Leave a Reply

