Day 29: The End of Ramadan

SO, uh..the last ten days got away from me. Sorry! I did, however, write my term paper, take my final that consisted of two essays, and finished my summer class. (I am a lot more familiar with the Tudors than the Stuarts.)

Today is the 29th day of Ramadan. Ramadan, depending on the sighting of the moon, can be 29 or 30 days. Never more than 30 days. Don’t ask me to explain the moon sighting thing because I don’t understand it. Every year I just wait by the phone for a call or text telling me when it’s Eid.

I hope the posts I *did* get to throughout the month helped with understanding a bit more about Islam. There are many aspects of the religion and maybe I’ll do posts later in the year. (If anyone is interested or has more questions.)

In retrospect, the month wasn’t very difficult once you moved past not being able to eat or drink. I was a little too busy to think about it to be honest. My friends and professor are actually more excited that I can get back to a regular schedule. Although, regular is relative. I have two weeks off until the beginning of the fall semester. But, when that starts I’ll be up at 6 to go to work, back at 4 to go to class for 6, and home by 10 to do homework and some writing.

I’m going to do a separate post for Eid-ul-Fitr. Should be up in an hour or two.

 

One thought on “Day 29: The End of Ramadan

  1. So what do you say to a Muslim at the end of Ramadan? Happy feast? Happy guzzling all the water you ever dreamed about? I’m not sure how I’d celebrate, but getting back to a regular circadian rhythm has to be something you look forward to.

Leave a Reply

