Day 14: What are the Pillars of Islam?

The Five Pillars of Islam are the core beliefs and are considered obligatory, essential to being a Muslim.

  1. Shahadah. (This is a statement, the profession of faith. In English it translates to “There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is his Messenger”. It is what is said when converting to Islam.)
  2. Salat. (This is worship in the form of prayer (five times a day).)
  3. Sawm (Fasting during the month of Ramadan is obligatory and a building block of the religion.)
  4. Zakat. (This is alms giving or charity. It is necessary for a Muslim to perform charitable works and good deeds in their lifetime.)
  5. Hajj (This is the pilgrimage to Mecca that should be taken at least once in a lifetime if it is affordable.)


(Also, tomorrow is the half-way point of Ramadan!)


2 thoughts on “Day 14: What are the Pillars of Islam?

    • uhh, haha, not that I’ve noticed? But, I also don’t own a scale. I’ve probably lost maybe a pound. Not much since I’ve been avoiding extraneous activity. I’m mostly sleepy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s