Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh + Giveaway!

It’s difficult to do these posts spoiler free >_< (That said, I appreciate any and all comments, but please try to avoid spoilers for those who haven’t read the book yet, or started the series! If you really really want to discuss the book and it involves spoilers, hop on over to Rika Ashton’s blog!)

The lead up to this book was epic. The blurb was vague, the hero wasn’t revealed until the very last minute, Nalini was a TEASE! It was epic (You hear that movie Epic? This is how the word is USED!*)

HEART OF OBSIDIAN is the 12th book in Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series. The hero and heroine’s identities are kept under wraps until you start reading. You find out the hero in the first word of the book, but you don’t get the heroine’s name until about Chapter 5.

Does this secrecy hurt the book? That would be a big fat NO. It eats at you, but once you start reading you’re like damn, it was worth the wait. Even after Nalini posted the first 2 chapters, I didn’t read it. I *wanted* to be part of the secret.

When it comes to series, the author has a big challenge. How does he or she keep the plot interesting, the characters fresh, the suspense taut? I don’t know, but Nalini Singh does it perfectly. Her writing is strong,  emotional, and just amazing.

So far, while the books have centered around the characters the Psy-Changeling world, the political arc has played a major role. HEART OF OBSIDIAN is even more of a character driven story. The political backdrop is there, definitely, but the characters, their development, and their love story is the primary focus.

Nalini Singh said it I’m inclined to agree: this is her most romantic book.

It’s sensual and hot and lyrical. And romantic. In the most basic, uncomplicated sense of the word, it’s romantic.

I can’t say much more about it without spoiling the story. I definitely recommend HEART OF OBSIDIAN. Read it!

I can’t help but think the end is near. Not near near, but near o_O yeah, I said it. But, seriously, the major story arc is cresting…or so Nalini would like is to believe. Unlike other series where the bad guys become larger than life and are subsequently killed off and you can’t figure out how the story could possibly continue with an antagonist good enough, Nalini builds on her foundation, only making her characters stronger.

*I saw the animated movie Epic. It was not epic like the title would lead you to believe.

** Read HEART OF OBSIDIAN and you’ll see how this post is connected to this one.

All that said, despite how much I loved this book, #10 in the series KISS OF SNOW is still my absolutely favorite.

This is totally random, but every time I talk abut Nalini Singh I have to stop myself from calling her Aunty Nalini. Not because I’m crazy and have formed an obsession with her and have somehow inserted her into my family. My mom’s friend’s name is Nalini and she’s like an unofficial aunt so…it gets weird o_O

Now for the GIVEAWAY!

Nalini and her assistant, Ashwini, are being awesome people and offering the first in the Psy-Changeling series SLAVE TO SENSATION to one lucky winner!

If you haven’t started the series and want to, want to read from the beginning again, or want to help spread the word about Nalini FEEL FREE TO ENTER!

It’s (an unsigned) paperback copy of SLAVE TO SENSATION open INTERNATIONALLY!!

CLICK HERE 7 FOR CHANCES TO WIN!

You have from 6/17/13 12:01am EST to 6/23/13 12:00am  EST to enter.

Winner will be announced 6/24/13

Terms & Conditions:

  • Must be 18 years or older
  • Void where prohibited. I reserve the right to substitute prizes due to shipping costs or other obstacles.
  • Do not leave your email in the comments section
  • No purchase necessary
  • Fill out the form for extra entries

8 thoughts on “Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh + Giveaway!

  1. Tori: Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series is one of my top ten YOU MUST READ paranormal romance series to date. I absolutely adore the world Ms. Singh has created and find myself rereading this entire series often; each book is filled with non-stop action, suspense and mystery, but is balanced nicely with hot steamy romance, and lighthearted moments. Dynamic characters and multiple interactions throughout the series allows us to get to know them intimately. It’s everything you could want in a series and more.

  2. Clever, Nalini, very clever, using the title of your book back at me! But does mean that someone in the story has a heart of obsidian and therefore cannot be touched by emotion? Or perhaps the heart has turned into obsidian in order to protect the one(s) they love? Hmmm.

  3. I loved this series (just read them all in digital in the 12 days before HoO released). Slave to Sensation, Caressed by Ice, and Heart of Obsidian were my personal favorites of the series. But I enjoyed every book.

  4. Thanks for the shout out!

    I’m a huge fan of secrets in novels, but only if they turn out to be good ones. Nalini Singh did an amazing job with developing the suspense in HoO – everytime I thought I figured somthing out, there would be a new twist and a new mystery to solve.

    P.S: I’m not suprised that EPIC was not as epic as the filmmakers and title claim – but I might still watch it since I’ve already seen Man of Steel and Epic is the only animated film out.

  5. I can just picture my sister flipping to chptr 5 to learn the heroine’s name even before she starts reading the book! My sis is the type who reads the ending first.

Leave a Reply

