Iron-Man 3 & The Alpha Hero

The next three #MondayBlog posts will be related. You’ll see why 😉

First up, Iron-Man 3! I’ve seen all three and I think the third is the best. I know this is debatable. Some people agree the first is the best, while others are all for the third. I think the two things everyone can agree on are IronMan2 was NOT the best and there’s no way you can do an Iron-Man reboot because Robert Downey Jr. IS Iron-Man.

There are many reasons I liked Iron-Man 3.

Just because.

  • The continued character development.
  • The reality of PTSD.
  • Amazing acting.
  • Robert Downey Jr.
  • RDJ
  • And uh…the son of Robert Downey?

Now, while I’m not a fan of Pepper (never have been because I don’t think she does much), she steps up in this movie. She’s still in her heels and starched business suits, but she does play a larger role. And she kicks ass (if you’ve seen it you know what I’m talking about).

But, this post is specifically about the scene where, after Tony calls out Mandarin, they’re attacked and Tony has to make the decision: FIGHT or protect what he cherishes above all else. Tony is a weird mix of hero and anti-hero so this is a pivotal scene (or I might have just seen it that way..).

(This right here. This internal argument is how the next couple of Monday posts are going to be connected because I’ll be posting about ENTWINED WITH YOU by Sylvia Day and HEART OF OBSIDIAN by Nalini Singh.)

But, back to IM3. It got me right in the heart because I don’t think (and I guess that’s what they were going for) anyone in the audience was expecting what happened. S*^& goes down, and what happens? A split second decision is made and I feel it resonates with all alpha male romance characters and pretty much all my favorites (to name a few):

  • Zsadist in JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood
  • Lucas and Hawke in Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series
  • Gideon in Sylvia Day’s Crossfire Series
  • Simon, Dalton, and Stanton in Celeste Bradley’s Liar’s Club/Royal Four series
  • (Honestly, Snape could be thrown in here a little.)

I may have lost the point of this post.

What makes an alpha hero? What are the traits of your ideal alpha hero? Does being a paranormal character make one more of an alpha hero or does it not matter?

Remember to drop by the Boroughs website to start voting in their writing contest! (PST)

4 thoughts on “Iron-Man 3 & The Alpha Hero

  1. Pingback: Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh + Giveaway! | Priscilla Shay, author

  2. I still have to watch Iron Man 3 and then Man of Steel (which I have a feeling won’t be as good as Batman, but who knows…)

    Lucas is so ALPHA – it’s even in his job description. (If you haven’t you should read Nalini Singh Guild Hunter series, Raphael’s HOT!) Bones and Vlad from Jeaniene Frost’s series are among my favourite alphas as well.

    P.S: I’m looking forward to your post on Heart of Obsidian.

    • You NEED to see IM3 if only for the scene I’m desperately trying not to spoil. I was never into Superman, mostly want to see it for Henry Cavill.

      See, we can get along. You take Lucas, I’ll take Hawke…we’ll discuss what to do with Sascha and Sienna later..

      I just started it! I made a deal with my friend, book for book (Actually made that deal a couple of times already)

      It’ll be up next Monday, working on it now!

Leave a Reply

