Writer Wednesday: Cara Marsi

Is it wedding season?

Here’s another Boroughs Author!

Cara Marsi

DSC00172

Cara Marsi, an award-nominated author, is a former corporate drone and cubicle dweller who is finally free of her fabric-covered cage. She craves books with happy endings and loves to write about independent heroines and the strong heroes who love them.

Cara is published in romantic suspense, paranormal romance, and contemporary romance. She’s also published numerous short romance stories in national women’s magazines. Cara and her husband enjoy traveling and she loves to write about the places they’ve visited. They share their house with a fat black diva of a cat named Killer.

 Website

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: What inspired THE RING?

Cara: Years ago when I worked in Philadelphia I frequented a cafeteria for lunch. One day a well-dressed elderly woman sat with me. She was wearing a huge pear-shaped diamond ring. She looked at my small diamond engagement ring and said, “That’s a pretty little diamond.” The incident stayed with me, and I wondered what would have happened if she and I had become friends. That became the inspiration for The Ring. That was the basis, but the story is about a young woman’s growth as she allows herself to love again.

Me: What is your typical day like?

Cara: Boring! Wake up around eight. After years of staggering out of bed at 5:30 a.m. to get to work it’s a luxury to sleep till eight. Feed the cat, read the paper while eating breakfast, one hour of exercise, shower, dress, then write. What a glamorous life! Not! Oh, and my husband expects me to talk to him once in a while.

Me: Name 2 things you consider yourself to be very good at.

Cara: The first would be negotiation. After years as a customer service manager I’m pretty good at negotiation and compromise. The second would be watching TV. I’m a TV-watching savant.

Me: What’s your next project?

Cara: A Christmas novella called A Groom for Christmas. It’s like all those Hallmark and Lifetime Christmas movies I love. My husband and I watch them together and he cries. He’s an old softie, but don’t tell him I said that.

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 100 years into the future, what ONE (nonliving) item do you take with you?

Cara: A case of my volumnizing shampoo. They may have technology in the future that will make fine, flat hair like mine have glorious body, but I wouldn’t want to take the chance they don’t.

Me: Weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten.

Cara: Kangaroo meat in Sydney, Australia.

Me: What’s your pet peeve?

Cara: Misuse of farther and further.

Me: What is your favorite quote?

Cara: Power corrupts, but absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Me: If your house were burning down, what would you take and why?

Cara: My cat because she’s part of the family. I assume my husband will be running out the door with me.

Me: If you could have picked your own name, what would it be?

Cara: I like my name, Carolyn. My father wanted my mother to name me after her, Eva. I’m glad she didn’t listen to him. Eva’s a very popular name now and it’s pretty, but I like Carolyn.

Me: Pen/pencil or computer?

Cara: Computer now, but when I started writing I wrote my first drafts in pencil in longhand.

 

Blurb:TheRing_2

After Heather DeLuca’s fiancé is killed in Iraq, an eccentric elderly woman and a handsome new friend teach her to bury her fears and dare to dream and love again.”

Links:

Amazon ** Boroughs ** BN ** Smashwords ** Kobo ** iTunes

Thank you, Cara and welcome to Boroughs!!

Don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Lunchbox romances, novels, novellas, and romantisodes.

8 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Cara Marsi

  1. Hi, Cara!
    It’s been a long time since I was down Valley Forge way. I have got to rectify that this year! Congratulations on The Ring! Absolutely love the premise!

  2. Congratulations, Cara (/Carolyn) and the two sales. Were you hurt when the woman said “little”?

    • Hi, Vicki, thanks for commenting. No, I wasn’t hurt when the elderly lady referred to my diamond as little. I was more taken aback and a tad amused. It stuck with me all these years though.

  3. Thank you for having me, Priscilla. I can announce here that I’ve had an offer from Boroughs for a second short story, Love Potion. I’m very happy about that.

Leave a Reply

