Writer Wednesday: Jill Limber

Welcome to the New Year’s Eve Club!

“Five friends reunite on New Year’s Eve to reinvent their ten-year old college list of the perfect man, then each promises to meet that guy before the year is out.”

Here’s another Boroughs Author (and my editor ^_^)!

(BTW, don’t forget to check out Boroughs’ writing contest! Many of the Lunchbox Romances that have been featured STARTED in last year’s Boroughs Love @First Sight Writing Contest!)

Jill Limber

Jill_Limber

Jill Limber has been writing for years. While creating stories she is kept company by three dogs, and occasionally a husband who has to be convinced that a trip to Home Depot is not the highlight of her day, nor does she want to go deep sea fishing. As a child she got in trouble for her tall tales. Now she gets paid for them.

Keep up with Jill on Facebook, Twitter @Jill_Limber, and the Boroughs Publishing Group website.

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: What inspired LOVING MICK?

Jill: Loving Mick is the first in a series of novellas called The New Year’s Eve Club. The idea came from the daughters of my college roommate. When they were freshmen in college they got together with some friends and drew up a list of qualities they thought the perfect man should possess. I mentioned this story to my plotting partner, Teresa Carpenter, and she thought it would be the perfect basis of a series of novellas. Our whole plotting group got together and came up with a series of five stories. The five heroines in the five books get together ten years after they came up with the original list and realize what they thought was important at nineteen is not so important at twenty nine. They make a new list and challenge each other to find a man by next New Years’ Eve

Me: What is your typical day like?

Jill: I spend most of my day at the computer as an editor for Boroughs Publishing Group. I try to write first thing in the morning, working on my own books. I find if I don’t put my writing as my first priority, I simply don’t get to it. Then I have to listen to my characters complaining in my head that I’m not paying them enough attention.

 

Me: Can you tell us a little about your experience as a former RWA president?

Jill: I spent a total of four years on the RWA National Board, the last as president. It was an amazing experience. The organization is so dedicated to the romance genre and to the members. The paid staff of RWA does everything possible to support, protect and promote writers and their genre. Serving on the board takes a great deal of time, but I felt is was payback on my part for all the things RWA has brought to me in my writing career.

Me: What’s your next project?

Jill: I’m working on a historical romance set in 1888 in upstate New York. I wanted to try and write a novella, but it turned out this was not it—it kept growing and turned into a novel length book. (Me: That ALWAYS happens. >_<)

 

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 500 years into the past, what ONE item do you take with you?

Jill: Okay—I would have to make a choice between my pillow or chocolate. I’ve spent a lot of time dreaming on that pillow, but they didn’t have chocolate as we know it back then. What a choice! I’m not going.

Me: If you could visit any place in the world, where would you choose to go and why?

Jill: I’d like to spend a year in a castle in Ireland, writing. Of course it would have to have wifi, a gourmet chef, central heating and a full staff to wait on me.

Me: A Black Bear shows up on your doorstep. What do you do?

 

Jill: Is it a magical talking bear? I’d invite him in, serve him tea and honey cakes and find out what it’s like to be such a powerful animal living by your wits. Is it a regular bear? I’d take a video and upload it to Utube.

 

Me: What MUST you have when writing?

 

Jill: Quiet and chocolate. Not necessarily in that order.

 

Me: What is your most embarrassing moment?

 

Jill: Not on your life. It involves a dead body, a giant faux pas and a lot of mortification. I’m not sharing.

 

Me: Describe your ideal romantic date.

 

Jill: I’m not very original when it comes to dating romance. Good food, good conversation and a good movie pretty much adds up to a fabulous evening in my book. Unless the Beatles reunite—and then a concert would be the perfect evening.

 

Me: If you had the opportunity to live one year of your life over again, which year would you choose?

 

Jill: I’d want the year before my father died as my do-over. His death was very unexpected and he was fairly young. There is so much I never got to say to him and so many questions I’d love to ask.

 

Blurb:

Jessie Jones’ is a member of the New Year’s Eve Club,
a group of five friends who get together on New Year’s Eve. But Jessie is Loving Mickhesitant to tell her friends how her cheating husband left her. Heartbroken and miserable, Jessie has determined she will not get involved with another man but instead will have “flings” which will not touch her heart and will not affect her two wonderful children, Sophie and Charlie. She will not be the kind of woman who gives her children temporary “dads.”

But Jessie did not foresee a wonderful man waiting to involve her heart, even against her will. Detective Mick Landers is assigned to the case when jesse’s son, Charlie goes missing. In a turmoil of grief and anxiety during the hours Charlie is missing Jessie barely registers anything about Mick Landers other than a strong feeling  he will find her son and bring him back to her.

Mick is instantly aware her but later on, when Jessie starts to date him she keeps a shield around her heart, too scared by her past to allow any man access to her heart.

Mick has never had the reaction he has with Jessie, but he is smitten, no doubt about it. As a detective he knows how to handle situations and he seems to have one with Jessie, who has no problem being alone with him.

He wants more, including being a part of her family. She is makes it difficult for him to prove how much he cares for her and her family.

Little does Jessie know that this man is going to turn her world upside down and change forever how she feels about love.

 

Buy Links:

AllRomance ** Amazon ** Boroughs ** Smashwords

Thank you, Jill!

Stop by every Wednesday for the rest of the month to meet the other members of the NYE Club and learn about their books!

And don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Lunchbox romances, novels, novellas, and romantisodes.

12 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Jill Limber

  1. Y&R is still in transition and I understand that, but this viewers kinda misses some of the campiness of the MAB era. I know I may be in the minority, but I find JG’s writing to be staid ad uninspiring. Not saying I want MAB and her cronies back, just saying that her version of the show was more entertaining. Since this new regime, I hardly get excited about the show anymore. Anyone agree?

  2. Great interview. i agree about the chocolate. Or potato chips…Chocolate covered potato chips!

  3. Hi Jill and Priscilla,

    Jill, that line about your characters fussing at you all day while you ignore them for your “Day Job” – I’m SO there. I love to write first thing in the morning, and what’s amazing is, if I get those hours in, the rest of the day my characters play a back-beat in my mind for tomorrow’s work.

    Loving Mick, and all the New Year’s Eve Club romances sound wonderful. I have to find a spot for them on my TBR list!
    Great to get to know a little more about you, Jill.

    And thanks for Writer’s Wednesday, Priscilla. I love how you pay it forward, Girl!

  4. I like that magical bear. I hope he’s like the Beast and will turn into a handsome hunk.

  5. Jill, I love the premise of The New Year’s Eve Club! Looking forward to reading it. And it sounds like your most embarrassing moment needs to be a plot line in an upcoming work!
    Wishing you continued success!

Leave a Reply

