Writer Wednesday: Tamara Hoffa

Soldiers need love too!! =]
Here’s another Boroughs Author!

(BTW, don’t forget to check out Boroughs’ writing contest! Many of the Lunchbox Romances that have been featured STARTED in last year’s Boroughs Love @First Sight Writing Contest!)

Tamara Hoffa

Tamara Hoffa lives in central Tennessee, with her husband of 30 years, her three grown children, two grandchildren, 3 dogs and 2 cats. Tamara started reading when she was four years old and has rarely been seen without a book at hand since. At home you will usually find her in “nana’s chair” with her kindle, her laptop or one of her precious, precocious grandson’s in her lap. Tamara is a reviewer, a professional reader and can now add author to her repertoire. Tamara is proof positive that it’s never too late to reach for your dreams.

—–

Website  ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Boroughs Page

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: What inspired HEART OF A SOLDIER?

Tamara: Heart of a Soldier was inspired by my two best friends. Both of them had sons joining the military, on e Marine and one in the Air Force. I thought, how would a mother deal with this loss? Especially if she had already lost her husband.It evolved from there.

Me: What is your typical day like?  

TamaraI am a busy lady. Typically I get up in the morning, get ready for work, check my e-mails, share the blog post for the day, check my FB notifications and than head off to my day job. After work, we have dinner with the family, bath time for my grandsons,and goodnight stories. When the boys are in bed, nana is back on the computer, editing, doing blog posts, networking. Then when everyone else is finally asleep I write. On Sundays and Mondays when I am off from the day job, I spend the day either writing or editing, while everyone else is at work or daycare, while cleaning the house, doing laundry and cooking for the week.

Me: Name one thing that drives you crazy.

TamaraOnly one thing? Mean people. I can’t tolerate people who intentionally hurt others.

Me: What’s your next project?

TamaraI have several new projects going on. I have a new release due out in May, Roping Love. It is a short contemporary/western Romance. I am currently working on two novellas. A contemporary, tentatively titled  A Special Kind of Love, and a Paranormal Romance that my BFF Beverly Ovalle and I are writing together, about dragon shifting firefighters. It foesn’t have a title yet, but the series will be called the Windy City Dragons.

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 300 years into the past, what ONE item do you take with you?

TamaraA bathroom! I couldn‘t stand to not have a flush toilet and running water. ugh! My kids say I am part mermaid because I spend so much time in the bathtub.

Me: What internet site do you surf the most?

TamaraFacebook! I am slightly addicted 🙂

Me: What is your favorite dessert?

TamaraChocolate Grand Marnier cake

Me: Do you have any pets?

Tamara: Well, my home houses, 1 cat and 5 dogs, but my daughter will tell you the cat is hers, and my grandson claims 2 of the dogs. I have an adorable pomeranian named Pookie and a lab mix puppy named Dante. Pookie and my grandson’s dog, Minnie Mouse (she is a Shitz Tsu) became the parents of 9 puppies on New Years Day. We kept 2 of the puppies, Stella Bella and Kaylee. Can you tell my 3 year old son named most of them?

Me: What is your favorite flower?

TamaraI love roses. White roses are my favorite, but any kind of roses are wonderful

Me: Who is your best friend? Tell us about him/her.

TamaraMy best friend is Beverly Ovalle. We have known each other since high school (cough) over 30 years! For most of that time we have lived many states apart and we didn’t see each other face to face for over 20 years, but we never lost touch and whenever we talked it was like we were together just yesterday. Since Facebook, now we talk every day. We run the SSLY blog together, and I should tell you the name of the blog is based on how we used to sign our notes in highschool. To this day we always end our correspondence with SSLY. Bev is a terrific person, smart, funny and always there for a friend.

Blurb:

Soldier Jameson Hunter faces the battle of his life, winning the heart of Charlotte Mackenzie, widowed mother of a young recruit.

Buy Links:

AllRomance ** Amazon ** Boroughs ** Smashwords

Thank you, Tamara!

And don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Lunchbox romances, novels, and novellas and Beverly and Tamara’s blog Smile, Somebody Loves You!

5 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Tamara Hoffa

  1. Hi Tamara,
    I love that you shared how the blog name, SSLY came about. How cool is that you two go all the way back to high school.
    Conrats on Heart of a Soldier – your new projects sound great.
    I’ll have a slice of that Chocolate Grand Marnier cake!

  2. Great interview, gals.
    Tamara, that’s so cool you and Beverly go back to high school, and I love knowing how you came up with the name for the blog.
    I’m going to get me some of that Chocolate Grand Mariner cake – my favorite things.
    Heart of a Soldier is on my TBR list.

    And double-thanks to Priscilla for helping me get to know Tamara better – love your Writer Wednesdays.

  3. Congratulations on your new “Soldier” release, Tamara! There is such a market for these stories now.

Leave a Reply

