Writer Wednesday: Beverly Ovalle

DRAGONS!! =]
Here’s another Boroughs Author!

Beverly Ovalle

100_1675Beverly Ovalle lives in Wisconsin with her husband Edmond of 23 years, her daughter Susannah, her son Nicholas (when he is home on leave from the Marines), a cat and two Chinese Water Dragons. Having her own Dragons is expected as she is dragon crazy and anyone that walks in her house can tell.

Beverly has traveled around the world thanks to five years in the US Navy and has worked for the government in one capacity or another for the past 30 years. Beverly has been reading romances since her Aunt introduced her to the gothic romance in the fourth grade and is still reading every chance she gets. She currently reviews books in her spare time and is Adjutant for her local AMVETS post.

—–

Website  ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Boroughs Page ** Pintrest

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: What inspired DRAGONS’ MATE?

Beverly: I love shifter books and I have always been fascinated by dragons.  Late one night I just started writing. Around four hours later the first draft of Dragons’ Mate was born.  As obsessed with dragons as I am they were a natural choice for shifters.

Me: What is your typical day like?  

Beverly: I get up around 6:00 am for work, shower, feed the dragons and the (we just found out pregnant) kitty.  I get dressed, grab some coffee and oatmeal and head to work.  My real job is Postmaster so I spend a ton of time on paperwork and the computer during the day.  I go over the receipts and window business from the day before.  At lunch I come home and work on the blog I share with Tamara.  In the afternoon I ensure that business is completed and deliver any express mail that comes in.  I monitor the return of the carriers and make sure that all mail has been collected and dispatched.  All during the day, I work with customers on either delivery issues or business questions.  When I get home around 5:30pm I make supper and relax, either reading, writing, or playing on the computer.  Tuesday and Thursday I watch NCIS and The Big Bang Theory.

Me: Tell us something you hate doing. Why?

Beverly: Cleaning!  There is no time for it!  And when I do clean, it returns to the same condition the next day so it is just fustrating.

Me: What’s your next project?

Beverly: I am currently working on *sigh* eight different stories.  One is another story with the characters from Dragons’ Mate, but focusing on a romance involving Annie’s foreman Drake.  Another is a Christmas story inspired by my son’s tattoo.  He just hates that! LOL!  Another is a contemporary military romance called China Fleet Club.  A fourth is a collaboration with Tamara Hoffa that we are currently calling WCD-Windy City Dragons.  Uh, yeah more dragons.  The other ones probably won’t see the daylight or will end up getting absorbed into the other stories.  But when I can’t get something out of my head I write it down.

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 100 years into the future, what ONE item do you take with you?

Beverly: A picture of my family.

Me: If you could be any shifter (any non-dragon shifter) which would you be?

Beverly: You take all the fun out of it!  Hmm.  A bunny shifter that way I could stay around my yard and no one would ever notice an extra bunny munching on my garden.  It’s cool to be “fluffy” as a bunny!  I’d be safe other than the neighbor’s cat.

Me: If you could visit any place in the world, where would you choose to go and why?

Beverly: I have always wanted to go to Egypt.  I love history and I would love to see they pyramids and sphinxes.  Egyptian history has always fascinated me.  For years I wanted to be an archeologist.  I’m not sure, but the Indiana Jones movies may have contributed to this!

Me: What is your most embarrassing moment?

Beverly: I was caught making out (really hot & heavy) with my date in an alley by a bunch of old Japanese men in Hong Kong.  They stayed there until we went away and then they left.  I’m pretty sure they lectured me about my behavior but I didn’t understand a word of it.

Me: If you could fly to a different time zone, which one would you fly to? Why?

Beverly: I would fly to tomorrow, 15 hours ahead of us.  That means I would be visiting my son in Okinawa and I miss him.

Me: If a genie granted you three wishes, what would they be? (can’t ask for more wishes)

Beverly: LOL!  You know I’ve actually thought about this.  I imagine most people have.  One, I would wish that everyone that is blood related to my children were in good health.  Two, I would wish that my house was my dream house.  Three, I would wish that all my bills were paid off.  I know totally selfish.  Maybe I should wish that the local food pantry was always full.  I can pay off my bills myself.

Me: If you had the opportunity to live one year of your life over again, which year would you choose?

BeverlyI would choose to live 1986 again.  It was one of the best years of my life.  I fell madly in love, traveled the world and had a wonderful year.  I would love to live it over again.  My theme song for that year was Cindy Lauper’s Girls Just Want to have Fun!  And I definitely lived my life that way.

Blurb:

They had been searching for their mate, but when
they find her she is traumatized and Dragons Mate_finalcoverscared to be around strange men. They must get her to accept them before they reveal their true natures. Will their love be strong enough to break down her barriers? Could she truly be destined to love two dragons?

Today Annie’s dragons will shift and fulfill her every desire, which means a fiery threesome—and true love.

Buy Links:

AllRomance ** Amazon ** Boroughs ** Smashwords

Thank you, Beverly!

And don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Lunchbox romances, novels, and novellas and Beverly’s blog (with fellow BPG author Tamara Hoffa – who is dropping by next week, BTW!) Smile, Somebody Loves You!

5 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Beverly Ovalle

  1. Beverly, I enjoyed your interview. So fun to get to know other authors. I can’t believe what you get done in a day…amazing. And the next time you see your son give him a hug for me and tell him we appreciate his service to our country. Lyn Austin

Leave a Reply

