Writer Wednesday: Paula Millhouse

We’re getting magical! 😉
Here’s another Boroughs Author!

Paula Millhouse

Paula Millhouse 2012 2Paula Millhouse grew up in Savannah, Georgia where Spanish moss whispers tales in breezes from the Atlantic Ocean, and the Intracoastal Waterway. As a child Paula soaked in the sunshine and heritage of cobblestones, pirate lore, and stories steeped in savory mysteries of the south. She’s a member of Romance Writers of America, the Fantasy, Futuristic, & Paranormal chapter, the Mystery/Suspense chapter (Kiss of  Death), and a member of Savvy Authors.

She lives with her husband at the base of the Blue Ridge Mountains with their pack and pride of furry babies.

In the southern tradition of storytellers, she loves sharing the lives of her characters with readers, and following her muse on the quest for happily-ever-afters in thrilling romantic fiction.

—–

Website  ** Twitter ** Facebook ** Boroughs Page

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: What inspired THREE WISHES?

Paula: During a day-trip with my family I ran across a quaint little home-goods shop where the proprietor owner offered fairy doors for sale – tiny doors, eight to ten inches high. Along with the fairy doors came every imaginable fairy charm offering for your garden, yard, and home – miniature benches, chairs, garden tools, houses, you name it – all tiny embellishments for the best-dressed houses in the area.

The shop owner claimed if you place a fairy door out on your property fairies will come through the magic portals to visit. If they are pleased with your offerings, they’ll hang out and protect your property.

How cool is that? Initially, I found myself entranced. How lovely.

Then the Muse in me reared his head and snapped: “Hey! What if you invite those guys in and they have mischief planned?”

Heavy sigh: This is often how the writer’s mind works – think worst-case scenario.

I left the fairy charms at the store and refuted the idea of possible mischief.

Magically, sometime the next week a story idea popped: What if a girl put out a fairy door and fairy charms and her One True Love found his way back to her because she had the faith to ask the Universe for him and his help?

Michael McKnight, my hero came through that door, rescued Abby O’Malley from her perils, and a story was born.

Me: What is your typical day like?  

Paula: I like to get up crazy early, like 4am, and brew a pot of coffee. I take said coffee to my studio, pop open the word processor, and discuss story events with my Muse. He’s a slave driver, prone to world-building and chipper dialogue. He manages a cast of characters with a whip and a chair, and together we shape their stories into reality.

Then I close up shop by 7am to get ready for my dayjob in the medical field. I see patients in a doctor’s office as a Family Nurse Practitioner, then zip home to my DH, and write for a couple more hours. Weekends are the best; I love to write on the weekends.

Me: What is your most embarrassing moment?

Paula: Well, there are many, but one of my favorites as a writer was when I misspelled my editor’s last name in one of our first emails. He asked to read my manuscript, and I got his name wrong! Imagine my remorse – I’m a writer – every word must be perfect, right? You know that feeling, after you’ve hit the SEND button, and the whole world seems to collapse down on top of you? Yeah, that was one of my best. Fortunately, my editor is a gentleman and instantly forgave my faux pas. Whew!

Me: What’s your next project?

Paula: A fantasy romance short titled Dragonstone. Boroughs Publishing Group acquired it back in December for their Lunchbox Romance line, and I can’t wait to see Magnus the baby dragonlet take flight. Magnus is a victim of theft by a mercenary who stole his egg in search of treasure. Kort, a prince reluctant to claim his throne is determined to return the dragon child safely home, along with Mia, their realm’s missing princess. It’s a high-heat fantasy romance short, with a novel follow-up in the works.

Me: Quick! You’re sucked 400 years into the past, what ONE item do you take with you?

Paula: I take my DH – as all-round hero and handyman, first reader for my stories, and one true love I can’t imagine not taking him. His love for all things historical would pave the way for a successful time-travel journey.

Me: What are YOUR three wishes?

Paula

  1. I wish for endless creative time to pull my stories together (but I work best on a deadline).
  2. I wish for an endless supply of readers who find value in my work (and want to tell all their friends).
  3. I wish for simplicity in all things (okay, and a little fairy gold would be nice too).

Me: If I dropped you in the middle of the desert, what would happen?

Paula: I’d totally freak out – I hate heat, snakes, and scorpions. I’d call up DH to come and rescue me with his time machine (I just love a woman in peril story).

Me: Which actor/actress would play your lead couple?

PaulaIn Three Wishes, Gerard Butler and Zooey Deschantel – they both have perfect comedic timing and rapier wit for the dialogue, and they’d be so cute together in love.

Me: Tell us something no one knows about you. We won’t tell 😉

Paula: I believe wishes are prayers that manifest themselves into reality when cared for. I love doing yoga, and Pilates, and I have a sort of yearning for more Zen in my life. Raised as a southern Baptist, often times I find these philosophies conflict. I enjoy finding their common ground, ignoring dogma from both sides, and writing about this journey.

Me: What is your personal motto?

Paula: Collaboration is key in any endeavor.

Me: If you could relive one year of your life which would it be? Why?

Paula: Hmm…hindsight’s 20/20, they say.

At age thirteen I gave up writing because my seventh grade English teacher critiqued my stories with a harsh tone. If I could do anything over again, it would be to live that year over, believe in myself, and continue writing despite her incorrect assessment. Just think of all the stories I’d have behind me by now. Shame on me for taking stock in bad reviews.

Do you believe in magic? ThreeWishes

Abigail O’Malley’s world turns upside down when a rival Irishman threatens to take her bar, an historic Savannah landmark, mere days before the start of the annual St. Patrick’s Day celebration.

When she captures a leprechaun, her three wishes include his gold, fairy magic, and the mystery of her One True Love.

Will Michael McKnight have time to prove he’s up to the task of granting all her wishes before the bad guys close in and destroy Abby’s dreams forever?

 

Buy Links:

AllRomance ** Amazon ** Boroughs ** Smashwords

AND A TREAT FROM PAULA!

An excerpt 🙂

Michael McKnight heard Abby’s plea, felt the waves of magic radiating out to him from the fairy charms she’d acquired, and the instant she asked and put that door at the base of the grand live oak he bent time and space to get to her. Banished for the last ten years for the misuse of his magic—and for hoarding gold—he had spent a life apart from her, one that had literally been a living hell.

But I’ve paid my debt, and nothing will keep me from her now.

She rounded the tree, screamed, and dropped in her tracks.

Panic seized him. He tossed away his tiny green hat and dove for her, catching her head in his small arms before she hit the dirt. She’d crashed. Totally passed out. Dusted the fallen leaves with her golden-red locks. Good God, she’s not breathing!

“Abby? Abby! Wake up, Abby!” His frantic voice filled the woods. He’d scared the precious thing to death. “What have I done? Damn it, Abby, don’t do this to me! Come on, sweetheart, wake up!” No. He couldn’t lose her now that she’d called for him. “Please! Abby, come back to me!”

Getting caught by a human was end-game for any leprechaun, but Michael wanted her to catch him. He’d loved her since they were children, and sometimes he thought he’d dreamed her into life. She’d never recognize him now—penance for his sins included the curse of living in this ridiculously tiny body with the green felt hat and shoes. But he didn’t care. Whatever she needed, he’d be sure to see she got. If he could. There were limits to magic, of course.

Thank you, Paula!

And don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Lunchbox romances, novels, and novellas.

15 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Paula Millhouse

  1. What a great interview. Loved the questions. I’d likely take my DH everywhere with me, too. 🙂 I’ve read Three Wishes – as you know, Paula – such a sweet story. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did.

    • Hey Bonnie,
      Thanks for checking in.
      Yeah, Alpha Male would die if he knew how much he inspired my heroes. I just love a man who’s all boy.
      Thanks for all your support of Three Wishes and Priscilla’s Writer’s Wednesday.

  2. What great interview questions! I’m embarrassed to say I’d not have thought of taking my man back in time with me, because I’m such a stickler for the rules and she said “thing”. I loved your answer, that was great!

    • Priscilla really did come up with the greatest questions, right Samantha?
      Objectifying my sweetheart like that might not really be fair, but you know, he is the best thing that’s ever happened to me.
      I should earn extra credit for thinking outside the rules!
      Great to see you here, Samantha. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Three Wishes sounds fabulous, Paula! Can’t wait to read it…and the follow-up novel. You know I love everything having to do with wishes. 😉

    • Hey Kellyann,

      Thanks for stopping by Priscilla’s blog today to join in the Wishes discussion – that’s right – you’ve written a Genie series! Doesn’t 101 Nights debut soon? I just love it when characters ask for things, and we get to watch them figure out how to make that happen.

      Wishes are important to people.

  4. Priscilla,

    Thanks for hosting me here on Writer Wednesday.
    Your excellent blog is a wonderful way to get a behind the scenes look at what’s hot in the romance world. I love reading about the writers you’ve interviewed, and what makes them tick.

    Boroughs Publishing Group’s Lunchbox Romance line is the perfect way to work fiction into our busy schedules. I’ve read several of their short stories, and your story, RETURNING THE FAVOR, is up next on my TBR list.

    Here’s wishing everyone a magical Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

