Writer Wednesday: Regan Walker

Let’s turn a little green this month! 😉
Here’s another Boroughs Author!

Regan Walker

Regan's pic for BoroughsI didn’t start out as a writer of romance, oh no. Although I loved to write stories as a child, by the time I got to college, more serious pursuits were encouraged. So, naturally, I became a lawyer. Who needs adverbs as a lawyer? But after years of serving clients in private practice and several stints in high levels of government, I decided it was time for a change. My work had given me a love of international travel (I’ve been to over 40 countries…) and a feel for the demands of the “Crown” on its subjects. Hence, my first novels are all about a demanding Prince Regent who thinks of his subjects as his private talent pool.

I promise my novels will always sweep you away to another time and another place. I want you to experience adventure as well as love.

I live in San Diego with my wonderful Golden Retriever “Link.” I have one son who is a young entrepreneur and, though he looks like a Highlander of old, he would never read a romance novel. So like a man, no?

—–

Website ** Regan’s Romance Reviews Blog ** Twitter ** Facebook ** GoodReads

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: What inspired THE SHAMROCK AND THE ROSE?

Regan: Well, I had just published my Christmas short story The Holly & The Thistle where Muriel, Lady Claremont, the Dowager Countess of Claremont, plays matchmaker with her young widow friend, Lady Emily Picton and a handsome Scottish shipbuilder, William Stephens. It did very well and my publisher asked me for another. I got to thinking that perhaps Muriel was at it again only earlier in the same year (1818) when she entertains as a houseguest the daughter of her good friend, a dowager baroness. I thought to have an Irish hero this time, and, as usual, got caught up in my research of the Irish O’Connell family that so affected the Catholic Emancipation won in 1829. I wondered what an Irish barrister would see in an English woman that would cause him to want to marry her. And that led to the idea that perhaps the countess’s houseguest might be a bit unusual—taking on a false identity to become an actress and play Portia in The Merchant of Venice at the Haymarket Theatre. You see how these things go? One rabbit trail leads to another and soon I’ve got my story. The result was The Shamrock & The Rose!

Me: What is your typical day like?  

Regan: I still work part time as a legal consultant, but when a work project is not driving me, after I walk my dog and perhaps attend an exercise class, I try to do a few hours of social media. (In addition to Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads, I am an avid reader and reviewer of historical romance with my Regan’s Romance Reviews blog, http://reganromancereview.blogspot.com.) After that I take a lunch break to read for an hour and then I write in the afternoon. Right now I’m writing the third in my Agents of the Crown trilogy, Wind Raven. I don’t watch much TV (though I love Masterpiece Theatre on PBS) so in the evenings I am able read unless I’m out with friends.

Me:  Name 2 things you consider yourself to be very good at.

Regan: Solving problems (usually those of others) and coming up with creative ideas.

Me: What’s your next project?

ReganWell, my second novel, Against the Wind, is due to be released this month. There will be a round of blog appearances for that installment in the Agents of the Crown trilogy. Then, I’d like to finish Wind Raven and see it published in 2013. But I have an idea for a novella that my publisher is encouraging me to write—another one featuring the Dowager Countess of Claremont, but longer than my short stories—so, I just might take a bit of a detour to do that.

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 100 years into the future, what ONE item do you take with you?

ReganWell, it occurs to me I should take my 23-year-old son, but perhaps that’s being selfish. He might object. So, I think I’d take my Bible. It’s my timeless treasure and I’d not be taking any chance it would be scarce then.

Me: Do you believe in love at first sight?

ReganOh, yes. I’ve known several happily married couples who knew when they first met, they were meant to be together and felt that their hearts was no longer theirs. Besides, I am an incurable romantic. My favorite song is As Time Goes By.

Me: What is your favorite quote?

Regan: It would have to be one by Winston Churchill as I’m a great admirer of his. I think this one:

“What is the use of living, if it be not to strive for noble causes and to make this muddled world a better place for those who will live in it after we are gone?”

Me: If your house was burning down, what would you take and why?

ReganI’ve thought about this, actually. Aside from my Golden Retriever, I would take my photograph albums of my son from birth through his teen years…and my Bible. It’s not that the latter isn’t replaceable, but it is all marked up with notes and things I’ve learned over the years so it’s almost like family history.

Me: Do you play a musical instrument?

Regan: I tried, I really did. I tried the violin and just couldn’t hack it. Sounded like screeching to me (heck, it probably was screeching!). Then, later I wanted to play the flute but my school band gave the flutes to the short girls so they gave me a saxophone. Couldn’t get into lugging that about either. But I regret not playing the piano. I love piano music. And, I’m told I have piano hands (long fingers).

Me: If you could have picked your own name, what would it be?

Regan: Ah, I have always liked the name Samantha because it sounds very feminine and it comes with a great nickname—Sam. So perhaps I’d choose that. But then again, I love the name Tara. I gave that name to my heroine in Wind Raven. It is simple but beautiful.

Me: Pen/pencil or computer?

Regan: Definitely computer. I am a bit of a techy. Then, too, I never liked pencils even as a kid and quickly moved to pens. My favorite pen is a fountain pen, but it’s too much work to write stories with one. And I love editing; so the ease of doing that as you write on the computer is just too good to settle for less.

A stint playing Portia at the Theatre-Royal at Haymarket
in London, a Shamrock_COVER_smallerdropped valentine and a dangerous desire lead gentle-born Rose Collingwood into the arms of an Irishman whose love will hazard all she knows and is.

Buy Links:

AllRomance ** Amazon ** Boroughs **

Against the Wind: Agents of the Crown 2

Against the Wind: Agents of the Crown 2

The second in the Agents of the Crown trilogy, AGAINST THE WIND, will be published in March 2013.

You met Sir Martin Powell, the spy for the Crown in France during Napoleon’s reign, in Racing With The Wind. This is his story–and that of the beautiful auburn-haired woman he loves, Katherine, Lady Egerton–who he calls “Kitten.”

A backwards romance, first they make love, then they marry and then they get to know each other and realize they are in love.  All this takes place during the Pentrich Rebellion that shook the Midlands of England in 1817, when mere villagers sought to fight “against the wind” that was the power of the Crown.

Thank you for the interview, Regan! Congratulations on both releases!

And don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Lunchbox romances, novels, and novellas.

7 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Regan Walker

  1. Hey Priscilla – thanks for hosting Regan on your awesome blog.

    Regan, your covers are amazing, and your series intrigues me. I love a good story about the Crown, and all the ways the characters interact. I’ve found in my own fantasy romances I’m drawn to royals, and the obligations the poor things inherit.

    Congrats on all your hard work. I’m putting your titles on my TBR list.

    • Thanks, Paula–I, too, love my covers. Kim Killion and I had fun designing them. I knew just what I wanted and she brought them to life.

  2. Regan is a master at the Regency novel. I can’t wait for the next in the Against The Wind series. Agents of the Crown. If you haven’t read Regan yet, get started you’ll be waiting with anticipation for the next one like I am. Sincerely Lyn Austin

    • Lyn, I am humbled by your kind remarks. And the second in the Agents of the Crown trilogy, Against the Wind, should be out in the next two weeks. I do hope you like it!!

    • Thanks, Sharlene for stopping by. Racing With The Wind is the first in the Agents of the Crown trilogy so if you’re thinking about reading one, you might want to start there.

Leave a Reply

