Writer Wednesday: Catherine Moore

Wrapping up February with a bit more love!
Here’s another Boroughs Author!

catherine-mooreCatherine Moore lives on Long Island with her almost retired husband and two already retired racing greyhounds. Her grown sons, daughter-in-law and beautiful granddaughter are never far. While using her left brain as a bookkeeper by day, she’s been able to achieve balance by attending writing classes and workshops to foster her right brain creative side in the evening. Music, lyrics and attending live concerts are passions that tend to fuel her imagination. Find her on Facebook and Twitter.

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: What inspired POSTCARDS FROM BROADWAY??

Catherine:  One of my favorite bands is the Goo Goo Dolls. In 2010 they released their album called “Something for the Rest of Us”. On the ‘special edition’ of the album they included several covers (songs written and released by other artists). One of the covers was “Postcards from Paradise” by a band from the UK in the 80’s called Flesh for Lulu and previously covered by their musical hero, Paul Westerberg of the Replacements. Although the concept of the song is much different from the premise of my short story, it got me thinking about postcards in general. They’re such an old fashioned and limited means of communicating. I’m not even sure who sends them anymore but you see them in gift shops still and some people even collect them. Coincidentally, when I was researching heart hospitals in NYC, I found New York Presbyterian Hospital which is located on Broadway and “Broadway” happens to a Goo Goo Dolls song (again, not related to the subject matter of my story). That’s how I came up with the title. What can I say? Music and lyrics are one of my ‘things’!

Me: What is your typical day like?  

Catherine: Now that my husband and I are ’empty nesters’, I find that I’ve got even more to do than when the kids were home! We adopted 2 retired racing greyhounds three years ago. I get up at 5:30 am to get us all fed and walked so I can leave the house at 7:15. I’m a part-time bookkeeper for 2 insurance agencies which adds up to a full-time day because I don’t make it back to the house until 4:30-5:30. After I catch up with the doggies and my husband and have dinner, I try to sit down for a few hours at the computer to get my writing in for the day and do research. Since I’m on the computer for work, when I take breaks, I also try to squeeze in a little social networking and make notes on ideas that hit me during the day so I have something to work with when I do finally sit down to write. I’d love to give up one of those jobs to have more time to write- a girl can dream!

Me:  What takes you out of your comfort zone?

Catherine: Writing takes me out of my comfort zone! I’ve only be working at this for the last four or five years. Creating something is a scary proposition. I go to a writing workshop very often. Sharing what I’ve been working on makes me very uncomfortable. I know it’s a necessary evil and I wouldn’t improve as a writer if I didn’t do this. Still, my palms are sweating just thinking about how my latest offering is being edited and critiqued as I write this!

Me: What’s your next project?

Catherine: I hope to write a novel some day. In the meantime, I’m taking baby steps. I’m working on a short story about Mother’s Day. Boroughs is encouraging all of us to come up with something for the various holidays during the year. I write pretty slow so I’m pushing myself by picking a holiday that isn’t too far off! Hopefully when the deadline looms, I won’t be thinking, I should have picked Christmas!

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 100 years into the future, what ONE item do you take with you?

Catherine: I’m a real techie! I have all the gadgets- iPod, iPhone, iPad, laptop, desktop, Kindle. But, in the future, there’d be even better gadgets so taking them would be silly, right? I couldn’t do without my favorite music though so I guess the iPod is coming with me. God knows what people 100 years from now would be listening to!

Me: Do you believe in love at first sight? 

Catherine: I do believe in love at first sight. Sometimes, people just click. That being said, I don’t think very many people recognize it as such when it happens. I think it only becomes apparent when you look back at it, unless you’re a character in a romance novel.

Me: What is your most embarrassing moment?

Catherine: My most embarrassing moment happened when I was 12 years old. I can still smell it even now. I had gone to the Bronx Zoo with my family. My Dad was holding my little sister in his arms so she could see the tiger prowling around the cage in front of me. Being an observant man, he could tell what the tiger was getting ready to do. Me, on the other hand, I was blithely unaware. Dad stepped to the side, just as the very large male tiger lifted his leg and urinated all over ME! Do you have any idea how much a tiger pees? Let me tell you, it’s plenty! Needless to say, I was mortified. Tiger pee doesn’t wash off easily in a public bathroom especially when your clothes have been essentially drenched. Several months later, my neighbor’s cat had kittens. As you might guess, we adopted an orange tabby and called him Tiger. I loved Tiger. I got over the embarrassing moment although I still avoid them!

Me: If your house were burning down, what would you take and why?

Catherine: I’m generally not a saver of ‘things’. Other than my family and my doggies, I don’t have many ‘things’ that are irreplaceable. I guess the one item I’d hate to lose is the ceramic chicken that sits on my kitchen counter. It was given to my great-grandmother when my grandmother was born on Easter. It’s 110 years old this year, it’s outlasted my great-grandmother, my grandmother and my mother. I wouldn’t want to be the one responsible for its demise.

Me: Do you play a musical instrument?

Catherine: I don’t but I wish I did! I attended 12 years of Catholic school. Back then especially, their idea of music education was singing in a choir. I attempted to learn to play the guitar in the high school’s ‘folk club’. There was a cute guy in it that I had a crush on. Unfortunately, I was so distracted, I didn’t learn much. I’ve written some poetry that a teacher once commented sounded like song lyrics. If I could play an instrument, maybe I could write a song. I’d like that.

Me: Pen/pencil or computer?

Catherine: Definitely the computer! I type fast and like to revise, revise, revise. Crossing out on paper would stress me out. I like things organized, neat, orderly. I’m might have a little OCD?

Me: If a genie granted you three wishes, what would they be? (can’t ask for more wishes)

Catherine: World peace? Oops, this isn’t the Miss American pageant, is it? Although, world peace would be nice.

My selfish three wishes are, not necessarily in order:

  1. to spend an afternoon with Bruce Springsteen in his home studio discussing his songs and songwriting process
  2. to write a novel and have it published
  3. to be able to travel to concerts that I want to see anywhere in the US and the world

Some lovers nothing can keep apart.Postcards_COVER

The first one arrived unexpectedly. As Mike opened the mailbox, it slipped from the pile and fell to the ground at his muddy feet; otherwise he might have missed it. As soon as he saw the picture of the Statue of Liberty, he knew who it was from.

– See more at: http://www.boroughspublishinggroup.com/books/postcards-broadway#sthash.mce6mNVo.dpuf

Buy Links:

AllRomance ** Amazon ** Barnes & Noble ** Boroughs ** Kobo ** Smashwords

Thank you for the interview, Catherine! See? Interesting 😛

And don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Valentine’s stories, Lunchbox romances, novels, and novellas.

4 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Catherine Moore

  1. Great review Catherine and Priscilla. Your chicken story has made me reassess what would be the most important things for me if I had to leave my home. I love the cover of your story. He looks like Adam Levin!!! Yum

  2. Wonderful interview Catherine. And may I say it’s lovely to meet a fellow ‘Techie’. I mean, who wouldn’t want all those gadgets? My husband can identify with you on the pee situation. We went to Pretoria Zoo in South Africa and he was bad mouthing a rhino. Needless to say the rhino took offence and directed a humongous jet of yellow pee at him, soaking him to the skin. Hubby has also been chased through the local bird park by a flock of geese too, so animals don’t seem to take too kindly to him…I have never laughed so much as seeing a panicked man run from about seven angry geese, trying to slap them away from his backside and legs. The whole bird park was in stitches. Good luck writing that novel, honestly, it’s a lot of fun, you should so do it.

  3. Thanks Priscilla!! That was fun. I guess now more people will know about my run in with the tiger and that my prized possession is a chicken! lol

Leave a Reply

