Teaser Tuesday: WIP

Teaser from a different WIP this week! This one’s a Regency Romance novella. (Anyone who has read RETURNING THE FAVOR may recognize the character ^_^)

Two hours later, Matthew wheeled his chair down the dirt path to the front door of the only tavern in the village, the Virtuous Thief. A soft yellow glow emanated from the windows and he could hear raucous laughter and cheerful chatter through the wooden door.

Tonight. It had to be tonight.

He leaned forward, reaching for the knob. His fingers grazed the cool metal. He rolled closer, but the front wheel slammed against the door and pushed him back, further out of reach. Matthew gritted his teeth and pounded a fist on the armrest.

Dammit! No. Tonight he would prove that he was still a man.

Angry and grunting, Matthew spun his chair sideways, pushed open the door and wheeled backwards into the establishment. A sweat broke out on the back of his neck as all conversation ceased as it usually did when he entered a room full of strangers. He felt their eyes boring into the back of his neck; he could almost see their mouths pulling down in sympathetic frowns. His face impassive, Matthew found a table in the corner and ordered a large bottle of whiskey, no glass.

I’m not drowning…yet.

Thoughts? =]

https://i0.wp.com/www.escapecodes.info/images/169.gifPriscilla Shay 2013

4 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: WIP

  1. Pingback: Manga Monday | Priscilla Shay, author

  2. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday: WIP | Priscilla Shay, author

  3. The excerpt was fun to read because I love historical romance but it also hit me on another level. When I was in grade school I ended up in a wheel chair for almost 2 months in 1952 after getting osteomyelitis (bone infection) when I was 9 years old. At the time they had no idea how to treat it but after a month stay in the hospital I was finally released but had to build my strength up before being able to walk. I also have a cousin who became a paraplegic from an accident during gym class.

    I’m always interested to see how different authors handle a character with disabilities and when I read “He leaned forward, reaching for the knob. His fingers grazed the cool metal. He rolled closer, but the front wheel slammed against the door and pushed him back, further out of reach. Matthew gritted his teeth and pounded a fist on the armrest” it brought me back to when I was first trying to get through small doorways with the wheel chair and having to sit down and go up and down one step at a time. I think I always looked back and thought of all that I had missed during that hard time before my cousin had his injury and then I realized what true strength was.

    Ironically I just had downloaded Returning the Favor on my Kindle from Amazon before checking your blog today! Can’t wait to find out how Matthew handles the frustration and anger that is sure to follow. Great price at Amazon – just $.99!

    • That must have been tough, especially at 9 and I’m sorry about your cousin. But, I’m sure he is a strong person (definitely stronger than I am) to deal with that.

      Hope you enjoy Matthew. You only get a glimpse of him in RTF (and he’s been paralyzed for a few years by the time of this snippet), but he’s a favorite of mine. Shh! Don’t tell the others 😉

Leave a Reply

