Writer Wednesday: Susan Mac Nicol

Another Writer Wednesday! With another Boroughs Author!And since tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, you should check out Sue’s Valentine’s short story 😉

SueSue Mac Nicol was born in Leeds, Yorkshire, in the United Kingdom. At the age of eight, her family moved to Johannesburg, South Africa where she stayed for nearly thirty years before arriving back in the UK in December 2000.

Sue works full time in the field of regulatory compliance for a company in the financial services industry in Cambridge. But she still finds time to work until the small hours of the night doing what she loves best – writing. Since her first novel, Cassandra by Starlight, was penned, Sue has since written the other two books in her Starlight trilogy, three other novels and two short stories as well as a screen play. Her passion is keeping herself busy creating worlds and characters for her readers to enjoy.

Sue is a member of Romance Writers of America and Romantic Novelists Association in the UK. She is also a member of a rather unique writing group, called the Talliston Writers Circle, which in itself has a story all of its own to tell. She lives in the rural village of Bocking, in Essex, with her family.

Her plan is to keep writing as long as her muse sits upon her shoulder. Her dream is to one day get that big old house in the English countryside overlooking a river, where she can write all day and continue to indulge her passion for telling stories.

Visit her website. Follow her on Twitter.

Here are a few questions I asked her:

Me: CONFOUNDING CUPID has a unique concept. What inspired it?

Sue: Actually, it was Boroughs’ CEO Michelle Klayman who sparked off the idea. I was musing about what to write for Valentine’s Day and in passing, an email I got from her made reference to a ‘disgruntled’ Cupid. I rather liked that idea and after a little more thought, I came up with the idea of having a poor Cupid in training trying to bring two people together but not really making a success of it. The story of how he had to think outside of his ‘Cupid Comfort Zone ‘ developed from there.

Me: What is your typical day like?  

Sue: Up at six am for the day job, home about six pm, quick half an hour family update, then sit down to enter ‘the zone’ and do the myriad of tasks an author faces in trying to get their work out there. Social networking, requesting reviews, editing your MS etc. Of course, at the same time I’m trying to meet my quota of doing 3 -5000 words a day on whatever I’m writing. Then it’s off to bed at about midnight and next morning it all starts again.

Me:  If someone made a movie of your life would it be a drama, a comedy, a romantic-comedy, action film, or science fiction? 

Sue: Errmm, I think a drama with definite elements of comedy. I have had a fairly interesting life, from moving to South Africa when I was young and spending thirty years there before moving back to the UK. My sister was born in Kenya where we lived for a short while as well, so Africa is very much in my blood. My family dynamics are pretty interesting, (and we’ll leave it there, I think) and I’ve certainly experienced quite a lot in my life. People who know me say it should be a best seller if I ever chose to write about it.

Me: What’s your next project?

Sue: Ahhhh – *grins saucily*. I have to confess that while writing my last work, a psychological detective thriller with a bisexual male serial killer, as part of my research into the subject about said male was consuming male/male sexy romances. All in the name of research of course. However I found I developed quite a passion for this genre and have continued to read books in this rather different and definitely fairly explicit area of romance. So I decided that next I’ll try my hand at writing something similar, and see where I end up. It’s quite a change for me but I’ve had some experience now….:)

Me: Quick! You’re dragged 100 years into the past, what ONE item do you take with you?

Sue: I want to say my smart phone as I can’t live without it but I guess that would depend on whether it worked back then. If not, then I suppose I’d just take my handbag as it’s packed full of ‘different stuff’ and hope there was enough in there to make life in the past bearable.

Me: Do you believe in love at first sight? 

Sue: No. I think love needs time to develop. But I do believe in lust at first sight. I do know the feeling 🙂

Me: What’s your pet peeve ?

Sue: People who persecute others for their beliefs and views. I have pretty strong views on this subject. I believe people should live and let live as long no one is being harmed.

Me: Tea or coffee? 

Sue: Coffee even though I live in England. But I do drink tea, it depends on the mood. If I’m dining with Queen I don’t have a choice. She insists on Earl Grey.

Me: Describe your ideal romantic date.

Sue: Jill and Michelle will now be rolling their eyes because they know exactly what I’d say. It would be a candlelit dinner on board a private yacht out in the Monte Carlo Bay, with the lovely Benedict Cumberbatch (an English actor to whom I’m very partial), servants to meet my every whim, and a definite sense that things will be getting more interesting as the evening continues…

Me: If you could have an unlimited storage of one thing, what would it be? 

Sue: Pound notes definitely. I was born to be rich and it’s a real shame no one else has realised it yet and made it happen.

Me: What is your favorite quote? 

Sue: Life does not ask what we want. It presents us with options.  – (Thomas Sowell, American economist and author)

Coworkers Leigh and Ryan are perfect for each other, but why ConfoundingCupid_FINAL
should that make things any easier for Gerald, a hapless Cupid-in-training eager to earn his wings?

Buy Links:

AllRomance ** Amazon ** Boroughs ** Smashwords

Thank you, Sue for the interview! Everyone, go out and enjoy a little CONFOUNDING CUPID for Valentine’s Day!

And don’t forget to visit Boroughs’ website for more Valentine’s stories, Lunchbox romances, novels, and novellas.

16 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Susan Mac Nicol

  1. Pingback: Appearances, reviews, news and guest posts | Susan MacNicol

  2. Hi Pricilla,
    Thanks for hosting Sue in your writer’s interview today. I like your blog!
    Sue,
    I love your spirit, girl. I just downloaded my Valentine’s Day copy of Confounding Cupid, and I’m off to read it now. Hope you get double doses of dark chocolate tomorrow as your reward for writing great romances.
    Cupid Rules!

    • Thanks Paula! I hope you like my Cupid story, it was a lot of fun to write. I think you’ll have to join Jill and Michelle for that planned London city pub crawl. The mind boggles on having the four of us together. I can’t think of a better way to spend an evening.

  3. I don’t want to turn this into a discussion on English actors, but …

    Priscilla, you should watch ‘Warhorse’. It has both BC and TH as dashing British soldiers. Their part of the film is too short, and the movie goes heavily for the pathos, but the scene with the two of them galloping on their horses with swords held aloft (not a euphemism) is amazing–and it’s them doing the riding.

    Sue, have you seen the interviews for ‘Warhorse’ with the two of them? Particularly the one where Tom recites ancient Greek. They are adorable–sexy, intelligent, funny, and clearly good friends. And both have proved to be very good actors.

    • Jillian, thanks for the heads up. Ahem, you are talking to a very accomplished stalker and fan girl who unapologetically soaks up anything to do with Mr Cumberbatch. So I doubt there is much out there that I haven’t yet seen. I have a friend in New Zealand who has made it her mission to send me something she thinks I might not have seen. As yet, she has failed 🙂
      I know, I know. I’m a really sad case. But ladies, by all means if you think you can get one over on me – Bring It On! *Chuckle* I look forward to the challenge….

      • I thought you might have seen it, being the dedicated researcher of all things BC that you are. As for being a stalker, I can think of many worse people to stalk! It’s nice to see actors with real talent being appreciated, rather than celebrities who are famous for being celebrities.

  4. Thanks for hosting me on your blog, Priscilla, it’s been lovely being here. Jillian, no problem on choosing Tom over Ben – I totally understand and I guess in a pinch he’d do too. Although my preferred second choice would be the lovely Cillian Murphy if Ben couldn’t make it. I’m a bit of a two timer when it comes to these two.

  5. Great questions, Priscilla, and interesting answers from Gwyn and Sue. I particularly like the sound of Sue’s ideal date (though in my version of the fantasy on the yacht with a lovely English actor, I’d have to replace BC with Tom Hiddleston-sorry, Sue!).

Leave a Reply

