Les Miserable and the Newbie + a Giveaway

Hi, my name is Priscilla Shay and I’m a Les Mis Newbie.

Here’s the backstory: Way back in the early days of December 2012, I saw an awesome trailer and was like I WANT TO SEE THAT MOVIE! It was releasing on Christmas Day, and I figured since I don’t celebrate I could just go to the movies. (Naturally, unforeseen events occurred and this was not achieved.) But, at the end of the commercial the title card popped up: “LES MISERABLES” and I felt kind of guilty for knowing how famous this production was, yet not knowing anything about it.

Nothing. Zilch. Nada.

I was a complete noob.

A song I LOVE and sing all the time was from this play and I didn’t even know it. (Although, that may be attributed to my complete lack of musical knowledge and/or talent.)

Anyway, I finally saw it yesterday and (o.o) Internet, why didn’t you tell me it was so GOOD?! Little known fact about me, I like musicals. But, wow. As a movie it was amazing, imagine what it would be like LIVE?

Storyline from IMDB.com: Prisoner 24601, known as Jean Valjean, is released from prison and breaks parole to create a new life for himself while evading the grip of the persistent Inspector Javert. Set post-revolutionary France, the story reaches resolution against the background of the June Rebellion.

A lot of romance novels were dedicated to Hugh Jackman last year and for Christmas they get a SINGING Jackman as main character Jean Valjean.

I’m not a huge Anne Hathaway fan, but she has an amazing voice. Her rendition of I Dreamed a Dream is one of the best I’ve heard. I liked Susan Boyle’s for the crystal clear, uplifting quality. Hathaway’s cover adds a depth of emotion that you don’t need the associated images to feel.

Amanda Seyfried as Hathaway’s daughter, Cosette, also performs nicely. She sings well, but I must say hers was me least favorite since at times her voice got so high I couldn’t understand. (I’m not saying her singing is bad. Not at all. I just learned I have difficulty hearing certain keys.)

My favorites were Eddie Redmayne and Samantha Barks, Marius and Eponine respectively.

The entire time I kept thinking, “I know him from somewhere. Where have I seen him?” (Note: Apparently no where because I haven’t seen anything he’s been in.) But..I love him o.o His voice, his expressions, his acting, his face. We’ll…go drool in a corner.

Samantha Barks? Hands down, I think she has the best voice of the entire cast. And her story, right to the heart!

When I got home, I immediately searched iTunes for the soundtrack to download my favorite songs. But, sadly 😦 😦 😦 two of my favorites are not included in the “Highlights” soundtrack. (Do You Hear the People Sing and Lovely Ladies.)

Highly recommended. You should go see it. I won’t be surprised if LES MISERABLES wins an Oscar (will, in fact, be disappointed if it doesn’t).

 

***GIVEAWAY***
(will be back later in the month with more Les Mis related giveaways!)

Because I was thinking about Shana Galen and her SONS OF THE REVOLUTION (Book 1, Book 2, Book 3) series the entire time

…CLICK HERE…

to fill out the Rafflecopter and you can win a DIGITAL copy of ANY of her historical romances wherever available.

You have from 1/10/13 12:01am EST to 1/18/13 12:00am  EST to enter.

Winner will be announced 1/19
(Failure to respond will result in the forfeiture of prize.)

GOOD LUCK!!

Terms & Conditions:
  • Must be 18 years or older
  • No purchase necessary
  • Open to wherever digital copy is available (Void where prohibited)
  • Do not leave your email in the comments section
  • Leave a meaningful comment/question in the comments section for 1 entry
  • Fill out the form for extra entries

33 thoughts on “Les Miserable and the Newbie + a Giveaway

  1. I haven’t seen it yet, hoping to soon. Love both Hugh Jackman & Anne Hathaway but I’m worried I’ll cry & that’s so horribly embarrassing.

  2. Les Miserable is my absolute favorite musical, so I was really looking forward to seeing the movie version. I was pleased with it, but despite that, I felt that while Russell Crowe’s acting was fine, his singing wasn’t the best. They needed a much strong voice for that role, in my opinion. I was very happy with Eddie Redmayne’s singing though. 🙂

    Thank you for the giveaway opportunity!

    Pam

  3. I agree with every word about Les Mis except that I had heard of it before seeing it. But not much. Husband is the musical person here. I thought I would like it. But did not think I would bawl my eyes out like a big girl. haha My only complaint, I hated the joking, slapstick comedy from the bad couple that had cosette. The laughter did not fit and made me cringe. That stuff stuck out like a sore thumb from the magnificence of the rest of the movie. Looked like a hacker got hold of it and added for stupidity sake. The rest, amazing. I will take a bathroom break next time I see, guess when. haha

Leave a Reply

