Writing Appreciation

In an unexpected burst of sentimentality, I started thinking about writing. Why do I do it? Why do I like it? Why is it the only interest of mine to last, to garner labor consistently?

I could say because I’m good at it, but I’m not at that place in my career where I’m remotely confident about my skill. I could say it’s for money and if you believe that load of bull, you’re not friends (personally or via social media) with any writers.

I like learning. A nerdy answer, but what are you going to do? Shun me? It’s the internet; I’ll make new friends.

You go to college, you pay for a degree. ONE. Maybe you double major. Still one degree, but with two concentrations. Then you can go for a Masters degree or a Ph.D and rack up a bunch of debt (assuming you’re not Mr. or Mrs. Moneybags). At the M.A./Ph.D level you’re focusing, refining a particular field.

As a writer, however, you’re free to study all fields of education without the debt or educational system restrictions.

I’M A HISTORIAN.

  • In order to write historical fiction/romance, I do the research to make my story believable and accurate.

I’M A PSYCHOLOGIST.

  • I must study the brain, know what makes a person tick. In a particular situation, how would they react? Why would they react this way? Would a childhood event affect future decisions?

I’M A SOCIOLOGIST.

  • I need to study human behavior, culture, class, religion, and law to build a plausible world.

I’M AN ARCHAEOLOGIST.

  • I must study where we’ve been to know where we’re going.

I’M A DETECTIVE.

  • When I’m writing a mystery, I need to find every clue, interview each witness, and catalog all the evidence to solve the case.

I’M A BIOLOGIST.

  • Particularly, in Paranormals and Fantasys where I have to explain inter-species breeding.

I’M A LAWYER.

  • The law must make sense, whether it is based in reality or steeped in an alternate reality. I must study the evolution of law to see what worked and what didn’t. A set of rules must exist for the world to function effectively.

I’M A CHEMIST.

  • That cocktail needs to have the right ingredients to explode or my characters (and I) will look foolish.

I’M A LINGUIST.

  • I study languages and dialects to add personality, background, and culture to a character.

I’M A HERO.

I’M AN ANTAGONIST.

I’M A MOTHER.

I’M A FATHER, A BROTHER, SON, DAUGHTER, UNCLE, AUNT, NIECE, NEPHEW.

I am so many things I can’t list them all. Why wouldn’t you want to be a writer? As a writer, I can have whatever job I want. I can play whatever role I please. I ALWAYS get a callback.

And you don’t have to wait until you grow up. 😀

I feel an Ode to a Writer coming on…

4 thoughts on “Writing Appreciation

  1. Aw I love that Priscilla! I’m so not a writer. I like just reading what all of yall come up with but you almost get the same feelings since you get to live so many different lives and experience other lifestyles, careers, etc. It’s a wonderful thing isn’t it?!

    Hope you have a great weekend!
    ~Anna

Leave a Reply

