Interview With Jessica Scott + Giveaways

EVERYONE, please welcome contemporary author Jessica Scott!

(For giveaway details, scroll down)

Jessica Scott is a career army officer, mother of two daughters, three cats, three dogs, 2 psychotic hamsters, 2 fish and a crawdad, wife to a career NCO and wrangler of all things stuffed and fluffy. She is a terrible cook and even worse housekeeper, but she’s a pretty good shot with her assigned weapon and someone liked some of the stuff she wrote. Somehow, her children are pretty well adjusted and her husband still loves her, despite burned water and a messy house. No zhu zhu pets were harmed in the writing of this book.

 

 

Jessica’s debut novel, BECAUSE OF YOU released last year. I went a little crazy over it here. She’s an amazing writer and you should definitely check out BOY. I know I can’t wait for her sophomore release this October 8th!!

Here are five questions I asked Jessica:

 1) What was the first romance novel you read? (Or who was your first romance author?)

Jessica: I think the first romances I read were my grandmother’s Danielle Steel books. Zoya, Message from Nam. I graduated from those to Jackie Collins which my mother said not only no but hell no to. Then I became a closet romance reader for the rest of middle and high school, reading Laura Kinsale, Johanna Lindsey, Jude Deveraux and Catherine Anderson.

(PS: I feel so unaccomplished. I haven’t read any of these authors.)

2) When and where did your first sale occur?

Jessica: My first sale occurred with Sue Grimshaw via twitter. She’d written a blog post about how she wanted a military romance that was not a romantic suspense and I DMd her to ask if she wanted it. That book became BECAUSE OF YOU, which was the first original LOVESWEPT novel in about a decade.

(PS: Guys, I was at RWA Nationals in  NYC  last year. Sue and Jessica are super nice. Also, it was awesome seeing Jessica make her first sale ^_^)

 

3) Who was the first character you wrote?

Jessica: We’re going to pretend that I don’t have some really bad Anne McCaffrey fanfiction in my closet from middle school and say that the first characters I wrote were Captain Sean Nichols and Captain Tracy Anderson in my never will be published first book I ever wrote AFTER THE WAR. Shane Garrison in BECAUSE OF YOU was the 2nd character.

(PS: I know we’re pretending it doesn’t exist, but I think people would be surprised how many of their favorites authors started out writing fanfiction. And: Shane. *drool*.)

4) Quick! You’re being pulled 100 years into the future, what is the first thing you grab to take with you?

Jessica: Lip gloss. Seriously. It’s an addiction. It’s the only makeup I wore while I was deployed to Iraq.

(PS: I usually have two different  lip glosses in my bag. I can never find the right color in the store.)

5) Tell us a bit about your latest/or upcoming release.

Jessica: My next book is UNTIL THERE WAS YOU which features Captain Evan Loehr and Captain Claire Montoya. They’re on a training mission to Fort Carson Colorado trying to get a unit ready to deploy and end up learning more about themselves and each other than they bargained for. Both have to confront some pretty heavy demons from their past.

(PS: I. WANT. THIS. BOOK.)

YOU lucky people can enter to win either a digital copy of Jessica’s debut novel BECAUSE OF YOU or an ARC of her next release UNTIL THERE WAS YOU. (You have no idea how jealous I am right now)

(open internationally to anyone with an eReader/eReader app)

How to enter:

Do you want to club me over the head because I left out a VERY important question or two? (Maybe how she balances her 4 roles??) Leave a comment or question in the comments section.

Comment/questions gives you one entry.

CLICK HERE for FIVE more entries for a total of SIX chances to win.

You have from 8/20/12 12:01 EST to 8/26/12 12:01 EST to enter.

Winners will be announced 8/26 with another giveaway to come 8/28.

Terms & Conditions:

  • Must be 18 years or older

  • No purchase necessary

  • Open INTERNATIONAL and/or to anyone with an eReader or eReader app

  • Do not leave your email in the comments section

  • Leave a meaningful comment/question in the comments section for 1 entry

  • Fill out the form for extra entries

3 thoughts on “Interview With Jessica Scott + Giveaways

  1. Pingback: Anything for You (A Coming Home Short Story) by Jessica Scott | Priscilla Shay, author

Leave a Reply

