Interview With Shana Galen + Giveaway

This week’s interview and giveaway featuring bestselling author Shana Galen kicks off her blog tour of her September release!!!

Shana Galen is the national bestselling author of numerous fast-paced, adventurous Regency historical romances, including the Rita-nominated Blackthorne’s Bride. Her books are published all over the world and have been featured in the Rhapsody and Doubleday Book Clubs. She taught English at the middle and high school level off and on for eleven years. Most of those years were spent working in Houston’s inner city. Now she writes full time. She’s happily married to an incredibly supportive man she calls Ultimate Sportsfan, and she has a beautiful toddler she calls Baby Galen. Her next release is When You Give a Duke a Diamond, which will be out in September.

I absolutely love her Sons of the Revolution series. (I gush about her here, here, and here.) If you haven’t read it yet, scroll to the bottom for giveaway details. But, first, here are five quick questions I asked Shana.

  1. What was the first romance novel you read? (Or who was your first romance author?)

Shana: I don’t remember the name of the first romance novel I read, but it had “velvet” in the title and was by Jude Devereaux. I bought it at a drug store while shopping for school supplies (I was in college). I don’t remember much about that book, except that it made me want to read more!

(PS: I haven’t read any Jude Devereaux. I’ll have to check her out!)

  1. When and where did your first sale occur?

Shana: My first sale was in May 2004. I was teaching 6th grade English when my agent called. I was not supposed to have my cell phone on, but I had forgotten to turn it off. I heard it ringing and thought it was one of the kids’ phones, so I started lecturing them until they said, “Miss, your desk is ringing!” When I saw it was my agent calling, I stepped out and took the call (more rule-breaking!). He told me I’d sold 2 historicals and 2 contemporaries to Avon. No teaching occurred the rest of that day.

(PS: Rule-breaking at its best ^_^)

  1. Who was the first character you wrote?

Shana: The first character I wrote was Alex Scarston, who is the hero in my first historical, When Dashing Met Danger. He’s a rake and a spy and my heroine had no hope of resisting falling in love with him. I did!

(PS: Alex! Loved Alex. And spies. Two for one, yay 🙂 You guys should definitely check out Shana’s backlist.)

  1. Quick! You’re being sucked into the 19th century, what is the first thing you grab to take with you?

Shana: This is not at all romantic, but I’d grab a bottle of hand sanitizer. Personal hygiene was definitely not at the top of everyone’s list in the 19th century, and who can blame them when the soap they had available was so abrasive? I know I’d want to clean my hands of all the small pox germs!

(PS: Quite practical. That didn’t even occur to me. I think I’d grab some Dr. Scholl’s – hours and hours of dancing @_@)

  1. 5. Tell us a bit about your latest/or upcoming release.

Shana: My next book releases in September and is titled When You Give a Duke a Diamond. It’s the first book in a new series, and here’s a little snippet about the series.

In a time when vice was the new virtue, love was eschewed for passion, and the demimonde reigned supreme, three glamorous courtesans dare to dream of true love and, with it, respectability.

The first book pairs the impulsive, lively Juliette, also known as the Duchess of Dalliance, with the stodgy, ordered Will, better known as the sixth Duke of Pelham. When Juliette witnesses a murder and Pelham’s fiancée is missing, the two are thrown into a whirlwind of intrigue, suspense, and passion.

Isn’t the cover BEAUTIFUL?

I love it. And guess what? One of you LUCKY people can enter to win an ARC of WHEN YOU GIVE A DUKE A DIAMOND or an ebook copy of THE MAKING OF A DUCHESS, the first book in Shana’s Sons of the Revolution series.

(open INTERNATIONAL and/or to anyone with an eReader or eReader app)

How to enter:

Do you want to club me over the head because I left out a VERY important question or two? Leave a comment or question in the comments section. Shana will be stopping by throughout the day to answer any questions or chat.

Comment/questions gives you one entry.

CLICK HERE for FIVE more entries for a total of SIX chances to win.

You have from 8/13/12 12:01 EST to 8/19/12 12:10 EST to enter.

Winners will be announced 8/19 with another giveaway to come 8/20.

Terms & Conditions:

  • Must be 18 years or older
  • No purchase necessary
  • Open INTERNATIONAL and/or to anyone with an eReader or eReader app
  • Do not leave your email in the comments section
  • Leave a meaningful comment/question in the comments section for 1 entry
  • Fill out the form for extra entries

78 thoughts on “Interview With Shana Galen + Giveaway

  1. I have just started getting onto HistRomance and I love it, I want to try Ms. Galen–I read the interview and I think I will love her stories. Please enter me in the contest. Thank you

    annfesATyahooDOTcom

  2. I see you’ve also written a few contemporaries? Do you like writing such different genres? Do you plan on writing more contemporary novels?

    • Yes, Kim, I’ve published two contemporaries, and I do like writing in different genres. It’s nice to change things up once in a while. I am hoping to sell some new contemporaries. Maybe I’ll have some news in a month or so…

  3. Hi Shana,
    I absolutely love your books and the cover of your new book! Can’t wait to read it. So, are you actually a leftie or righty? 😀

    • Hey Erica, the hardest part is the first draft (after the first 3-4 chapters). Most days it is torture to try and get just 4 pages (my daily quota). I much prefer revising (although not when I’m actually revising!).

  4. Hi Shana,i’m you new fans, i only finished you two books, Lord and lady spy & The rogue pirate’s bride, now i ongoing read The Making of a Duchess. i really want to know if you only read historical romance?and if no, could you recommend the books to me?

    • Hey Stephani, I read everything (not too much paranormal). Some of my favorite authors who don’t write historical romance are Susan Elizabeth Phillips (This Heart of Mine), Kristan Higgans (any of hers), Nora Roberts (Chasing Fire, Blue Smoke), The Selection by Kiera Cass, Just for Fins or Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs, Firelight by Sophie Jordan, Lisa Kleypas has also written some great contemporaries.

  5. I will abstain from the contest because I won a copy of Lord and Lady Spy (OMG, LOVE THAT BOOK!). I just had to say that the new book looks awesome and I can’t wait to devour my copy! Thanks for all your great hard work, Shana. I hope you love writing as much as I love reading your books. 🙂

    • Oh, thank you so much, Anna! I do love writing–this is not to say it’s always easy–but I wouldn’t do anything else.

      By the way, everyone, Lord and Lady Spy is only $0.99 on Kindle and Nook right now. I have nothing to do with pricing, so I don’t know when the sale will end.

  6. I also have said I wouldn’t want to have all of the germs if I went back in time and a chamber pot for bathroom use, I don’t think so. I’ll read the book and stay right here in our time, thank you! I have two three year old grandchildren who are with me a lot of the time and I can not get anything done while they are here. I know a couple of authors go to a hotel for a weekend if they are on a dead line. Have you ever done that?

    • Mary, checking into a hotel to work is like my dream! Actually, two months ago my husband went to Vegas for a conference, and I tagged along just so I could work when he was at the meetings. People couldn’t believe I was working in Vegas, but I don’t get much alone time. And I’m always “on deadline,” so i have just learned to work ahead.

Leave a Reply

