Who Was Your First? + Giveaway

Dirty minded people! πŸ˜‰
(giveaway info at bottom is you don’t want to read)


This is the beginning of my “firsts” giveaways.

What was the first romance novel you read? The first romance novel I read was TO WED A SCANDALOUS SPY by Celeste Bradley.

Four dangerously elite spies who answer only to the King will sweep readers into court intrigue and society scandal, into ballrooms and bedrooms. They are…The Royal Four.

Lovely, highborn Willa Trent was an orphan, raised by a local, somewhat odd family in the country who want nothing but the best for their girl. So when she drags home the unconscious man she accidentally downed with a slingshot, they arrange a hasty marriage and pack the couple off with best wishes. Armed with a groggy husband and a new future, Willa’s optimism has no limits…until she discovers the secret, dangerous world or Nathaniel Stonewell, Earl of Reardon, a.k.a. “Lord Treason.”

Though Nathaniel is reviled by most of England for his devious plot against the Crown, he is, in reality, a member of an elite cadre of secret royal defenders on a daring undercover mission. He must keep his secrets at all costs, especially from Willa. And yet, he is enchanted…though he stubbornly refuses to surrender to his passion. Far better, he tells himself, to turn his back on love than risk everything for it. Luckily, his bride has other plans..

It was recommendation from a friend the summer between my junior and senior years of high school.

I LOVED it. I had gotten stuck in the mindset of only reading for school. The only non academic reading I did was Harry Potter. It didn’t occur to me that there were ADULT books or that I was quickly becoming an adult myself (the HORROR!).

Initially, it wasn’t the romance that intrigued me. Or the history for that matter. It was my friend’s insistence.

Then, I was thrown into a world of history, spies, nobility, myths, wit, humor, 3-dimentional characters, amazing, complex storytellingΒ  that I enjoyed WAY more than “literature” – I can’t tell you guys how much I love these books.

TO WED is the first in Bradley’s THE ROYAL FOUR series which comes after/is connected to her LIAR’S CLUB series. I have all nine (soon to be 10! after years another one is releasing SOON! *excited*) by my bedside to reread whenever I want. They’re my go to books that I NEVER get tired of.

Guess what happened after that? I read every book she had published at the time (this was about 5 years ago). Then, when I finished with her backlist, I went searching on my own (the friend has run out of recommendations o.o) Finished with that author, moved on to the next, and the next, and the next, and the next πŸ™‚ It’s been a five year long love affair and YOU CAN’T STOP ME!

Now, I want you guys to have a chance to read it too!


It’s simple, in the comment section below tell me what was YOUR first romance and you’ll be entered to win an ebook copy of TO WED A SCANDALOUS SPY. What did you like about it?

Click the link at the bottom to enter for more chances to win an ebook of MY first romance novel πŸ™‚

You have from 8/6/12 12:01 EST to 8/12/12 12:01 EST to enter

Winner will be posted 8/12 with another giveaway to come 8/13


Terms and Conditions:

  • Must be 18 years or older
  • No purchase necessary
  • Open to anyone with an eReader or eReader app
  • Do not leave your email in the comments section
  • Leave a meaningful comment in the comments section (not in the form) for 1 entry
  • Click the link below and fill out the form for extra entries (4 total)

WIN eBook of TO WED A SCANDALOUS SPY: Click this link/Fill out form
(Login with Facebook or your Email Address)

12 thoughts on “Who Was Your First? + Giveaway

  1. Yeah, it was contemporary. I don’t remember the first historical romance’s name, but it was a Cassie Edwards novel.

  2. I really don’t remember the Title of my first romance book I’ve read but my first Author I read was Barbara Cartland, I was about 15 at the time and her vivid description of the era, clothing, locals and the people had me hooked, It has been many years and I have read so many of her as well as other author’s books since then.

  3. It’s terrible but I can’t actually pinpoint a single book that was my first “romance”. I think it must have been one of Jayne Ann Krentz/Amanda Quick’s books. I read a TON of them all around the same time but can’t place which one started it all. Loved them all though πŸ™‚ I’d never heard of Bradley but it does sound interesting! Will have to add it to the tbr list πŸ™‚

    • Hi Anna! (thank you)

      I haven’t read any Jayne Ann Krentz/Amanda Quick. Shame on me.

      I’d tell you which of the Royal Four in Celeste’s series was my favorite, but each book I picked up I loved. Then, I doubled back and read her Liar’s Club series and it happened all over again.

  4. I started reading romances relatively young. The 1st book I read was a Barbara Cartland book, can’t remember the title now…It was just about right for me at that age. Light, sweet romance & absolutely non graphic/descriptive!

    • I haven’t read anything by here, will have to check one out! If you’re still looking for non graphic/descriptive you should try Erin Knightley’s debut MORE THAN A STRANGER πŸ™‚

  5. The first historical romance I ever read was Johanna Lindsey’s THE HEIR, which is also a part of a series now and after years of waiting the latest installment just released in June! (So, yes, I know how you feel, lol!)

  6. It was Amanda Quick’s MISTRESS. I was visiting a friend in graduate school and her house contained hundreds of books on anthropology and archeology and one romance. I got hooked hard. I read every single romance at the local library and then I wrote one. That worked out pretty well for me…

    • After I started reading HRs that June/July, I started writing in October/November. We’ll see how well it works for me πŸ™‚

  7. It was a trilogy all in one book called Holding Out for a Hero by Gina Wilkins. It contained the stories about the three Reed sisters: Hero in Disguise (Summer and Derek — DEREK WAS EVEN A SPY!!!), Hero for the Asking (Spring and Clay), and Hero by Nature (Autumn and Jeff). I actually got the book from my grandma (hehe) when she grabbed a handful that were going to be thrown out/donated from her apartment building. Sure, it’s set back in the 90’s, but I fell in love with each and every man (although I have a soft spot for Derek…it must be that spy aspect), and could relate at least one aspect of myself with each sister. And it was amazing to see the sisters and their spouses in the following book(s). I even made my best friend at the time read it once I was done….because she knew I would be reading that instead of paying attention in class… Oh well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

