Night Embrace by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Released: July 13, 2006

Title: Night Embrace

List Price: $7.99 (paperback)

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Pages: 416

Publisher:  St. Martin’s

Description (Amazon): Dear Reader,
Life is great for me. I have my chicory coffee, my warm beignets, and my best friend on the cell phone. Once the sun goes down, I am the baddest thing prowling the night: I command the elements, and I know no fear. For centuries, I’ve protected the innocent and watched over the mankind, making sure they are safe in a world where nothing is ever certain. All I want in return is a hot babe in a red dress, who wants nothing more from me then one night.
Instead, I get a runaway Mardi Gras float that tries to turn me into roadkill and a beautiful woman who saves my life but can’t remember where she put my pants. Flamboyant and extravagant, Sunshine Runningwolf should be the perfect woman for me. She wants nothing past tonight, no ties, no long-term commitments.
But every time I look at her, I start yearning for dreams that I buried centuries ago. With her unconventional ways and ability to baffle me, Sunshine is the one person I find myself needing. But for me to love her would mean her death. I am cursed never to know peace or happiness-not so long as my enemy waits in the night to destroy us both.
–Talon of the Morrigantes

THOUGHTS:

Technically the second book in the Dark-Hunter series, Night Embrace centers on Talon, the Celtic tribal chieftain warrior with a motorcycle who lives in a swamp with an alligator was introduced in Kyrian’s book.

The Dark-Hunters, as you will find throughout the series, are far more interesting than their counterparts because each of them had to go through an immense, soul-wrenching tragedy before they could become a Dark-Hunter. That doesn’t mean their counterparts aren’t interesting. They’re just …less interesting.

For example, Talon’s girl, Sunshine Runningwolf, there’s a twist involving her. But, I was too distracted by her name and kept laughing.

Not only is Talon hurting from his past, he’s cursed by a god. Sunshine’s life is relatively normal, then she meets Talon and realizes so much more.

The subplot with the Daimons is continued and grows – drama, drama, drama. Poor Talon can’t catch a break to enjoy some down time with his girl. Other creatures are introduced – Vane and Fang, Katagari slayers – with tortured, non-Dark-Hunter related pasts of their own.

It was fun, action-packed. Acheron pops up. Kenyon’s writing is great. She’s funny and brings the characters to life. I particularly like her giving a voice to the gods and other mythological creatures that are usually mentioned as arbitrary figures. (Apparently, they’re vindictive little bastards.)

Rating: 3 1/2 stars

SEE ALSO:

Fantasy Lover

Night Pleasures

Infinity

Leave a Reply

