Release Day Review! Eternal Rider by Larissa Ione

Released: March 29, 2011

Title: Eternal Rider (Lords of Deliverance)

List Price: $7.99

Author: Larissa Ione

Pages: 402; 403-412: Excerpt from Immortal Rider

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Description (her website): They are here. They ride. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

His name is Ares, and the fate of mankind rests on his powerful shoulders. If he falls to the forces of evil, the world falls too. As one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, he is far stronger than any mortal, but even he cannot fight his destiny forever. Not when his own brother plots against him.

Yet there is one last hope. Gifted in a way other humans can’t-or won’t-understand, Cara Thornhart is the key to both this Horseman’s safety and his doom. But involving Cara will prove treacherous, even beyond the maddening, dangerous desire that seizes them the moment they meet. For staving off eternal darkness could have a staggering cost: Cara’s life.

THOUGHTS:

I’ve only reviewed one of Larissa’s books so far. Not because I don’t like them, silly! but, because I got caught up with school and what not. However, I decided since I’ve already the book and it comes out today…why not!

Quick Question: What do you know about the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse?

…………………………………………………………
………………………………………………………………
…………………………………………………………
………………………………………………………………

ANSWER: NOTHING.

So…there are these Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse – except they’re not all men.

Everyone thinks they bring Pestilence, War, Famine, and Death (basically the end of the world) – except they don’t.

Everyone thinks they’re evil – but they’re not.

Huh. Then what the heck are they?!

Eternal Rider elaborates on the Four Horsemen who were incidentally introduced at the end of Sin Undone. (Rawr, don’t want to spoil that one for you.)

Ares, the second horseman, is intelligent, quick on his feet, strong, HUGE (*cough* he’s REALLY …tall), strategic, oddly overprotective of his sister, tortured, and doesn’t believe love is good. His brother, Pestilence, the first Horseman, is on a rampage and is now evil since his Seal was broken (see Sin Undone).

There aren’t many ways to kill a Horseman (although, one of these days I’m hoping to meet an immortal Immortal). Pestilence, however, is intent on breaking Ares’ Seal because once he’s down the other two, Limos and Thanatos, will fall and usher in the end of the world.

O.O

While they still hold some filial affection for him…Pestilence is a …BIG MEENIE! He’s an evil, crude, sadistic, disease-filled murderer/warrior.

Each of the Horsemen has an agimortus, a trigger for the breaking of the Horseman’s Seals. Reseph/Pestilence’s broke with Sin and Ares’…found a lot of new homes until it settled on Cara Thornhart – a gifted, but traumatized human who doesn’t know another world, a paranormal world, exists until it comes busting down her door.

Cara is kind, timid, and lives her life quietly. So quietly that she barely lives. Then, she meets Ares and discovers she doesn’t really have that long to live anyway. What’s a girl to do when her life is cut short, and now apparently when she dies it’ll bring the end of the world? NO PRESSURE!

Cara’s kindness and sweetness balances out Ares’ gruff, macho Horseman…ness. I loved watching them get together. Towards the end I sort of teared up and – *sigh* Let’s face it. I cried. Tears streaming down my face, snot getting clogged. Yeah, it wasn’t pretty.

But, the development of Ares and Cara’s relationship, the deterioration of the sibling bond with Pestilence, and the mystery of Limos’ relationship were all believable. So much so that I read a 400 page book in a few hours and I was mad that it ended.

I wanted to hit Pestilence, but then he did something seemingly nice. I wanted to hit Ares when Cara DID. I, oddly, didn’t want to hit Thanatos as much as everyone else did. Limos is a little odd too. But, in a I-want-to-know-what-the-hell-you-did way.

The Demonica series characters show up. You don’t get much from them since it’s not their story, but they’re there.

Larissa… *gives cookies*

More please? (I still say you should have soul-sucking demons and name them DMV!!!)

The cover is really cool. You can’t see it in the picture, but the lettering for her name, the title, and the symbol kind of…glow. It’s creepy especially if you happen to accidentally glance at the book sitting on your nightstand at 2am after endless hours of homework.

*sigh* I wasn’t supposed to read this yet. I promised myself I’d be a good girl and finish my homework first. Then, read books I can’t read around my mother since I’ll be blushing about TREES (>_<) too much.

(Pssssst! Your husband was SO right about this book. O.O it’s…Ares..he…I…*blush*)

Go get it guys! Only downer 😦 you have to wait until December for the second book – Immortal Rider. Excuse me while I slink off and I try to brainstorm what the other titles could be…

Rating: 4 ½ out of 5 stars.

PS

OH! And since I’ve read this, 🙂 I don’t have to choose between it and The Darkest Secret by Gena Showalter. Yayyyy.

 

2 thoughts on “Release Day Review! Eternal Rider by Larissa Ione

Leave a Reply

