Etiquette: A Lost Art?

Let’s jump right in. There was a whole ‘internet etiquette’ discussion and how writers should maintain a professional image. This, of course, stretches to all job markets especially in light of the new Social Network Age. People who have jobs or are interviewing for jobs should take care what they post because it can affect them negatively. This all makes sense.

Don’t update your status or Tweet about your boss being a “stupid **** with a ************” or that you’re not really sick you’re just skipping out on work. If you’re interviewing, don’t post about the drinking binge you went on the night before the interview or how you lied on your resume. Personally, I don’t think you should do these things, but definitely don’t announce it. Employers ARE Googling you.

With writing, there was the debate about authors no longer having the option of reviewing books, but more recommending books. That authors should be careful what they say about a specific author or title because they never know when they might need help from the person they bad-mouthed.

It makes sense, especially since the publishing industry is a small, close-knit community.

However, doesn’t – or shouldn’t – this etiquette apply both ways? I’m not saying it doesn’t, but it’s not solely the applicant, querier, or interviewee who needs to be courteous and professional. Doesn’t the way a company or publisher present itself affect how many people apply or submit? Doesn’t this trickle down to individual employees?

I recently applied somewhere and after repeated clarification was unable to further the opportunity. I’m not mad or disgruntled about this. That isn’t what this post is about. For me this was a ‘whatever’ opportunity. Not that I didn’t do my best, simply I wouldn’t be devastated if it didn’t work out. However, after playing E-mail Volleyball a particularly snide Tweet surfaced. (I’m not making a big deal or blowing out of proportion. It appeared within the timeframe of the Volleyball game and referred quite blatantly to it.)

I’m not going to post it or anything, but 1) it was an unnecessary remark 2) why wouldn’t I be able to see it if Twitter is where I stumbled upon everything to begin with?

It’s like an author querying an agent, being rejected, then blasting/cursing out said agent on a blog they told the agent they ran/contributed. Only, in this case it wasn’t the “author”, but the “agent”-equivalent.

I’ll admit there are situations I simply don’t know how to act or react. Those get me in sticky, uncomfortable places. However, I do try my best to be polite since outright rudeness is unkind.

So, am I wrong or is there a double standard? Is the brunt of etiquette and professionalism solely the employee’s/applicant’s or does the employer also bear some responsibility? What do you think about this situation?

On a lighter note, I am going to do some homework (don’t know exactly how light that is…) and try to type up some reviews! I’ve read a lot, but haven’t had time to write/post anything. Keep you posted!

PS

2 thoughts on “Etiquette: A Lost Art?

  1. Heyy, I just came across your site and your stories look very interesting! Do you post them up online?
    The etiquette post was much needed. It’s unfortunate how people forget about professionalism from time to time. I think courtesy and etiquette ultimately stem from one’s moral values. Its very foundation is, pretty much, “to do unto others as you would have them do to you.”

    • Yay, new person! Hi 🙂

      Thank you. I do post some online. I’ve taken down most of them. But, Listening to Love is still posted on my fictionpress profile

      http://www.fictionpress.com/s/2738493/1/Listening_to_Love

      I give you fair warning: it’s unedited. But, I hope you enjoy 🙂 I’d love feedback!

      Yes, people do forget about it. I found it interesting because if I had ranted and raved about the missed opportunity, I could very well have been blacklisted.

Leave a Reply

