Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Released: November 28, 2006

Title: Fantasy Lover

List Price: $7.99 (paperback)

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Pages: 337

Publisher:  St. Martin’s

Description (Amazon): Dear Reader, Being trapped in a bedroom with a woman is a grand thing. Being trapped in hundreds of bedrooms over two thousand years isn’t. And being cursed into a book as a love-slave for eternity can ruin even a Spartan warrior’s day. As a love-slave, I knew everything about women. How to touch them, how to savor them, and most of all how to pleasure them. But when I was summoned to fulfill Grace Alexander’s sexual fantasies, I found the first woman in history who saw me as a man with a tormented past. She, alone, bothered to take me out of the bedroom and into the world. She taught me to love again. But I was not born to know love. I was cursed to walk eternity alone. As a general, I had long ago accepted my sentence. Yet now I have found Grace-the one thing my wounded heart cannot survive without. Sure, love can heal all wounds, but can it break a two thousand year old curse?
Julian of Macedon

THOUGHTS:

I’ve read this series a bit out of order:

Infinity (YA novel about one of the characters in the Dark- Hunter series)
Night Pleasures (the manga)
Night Pleasures (the novel)
Night Embrace
Dance With the Devil
Fantasy Lover
Kiss of the Night

Fantasy Lover is technically not part of the Dark-Hunter (DH) series, however, most of the fans include it anyway because it showcase a few reoccurring characters and Julian (the male protagonist) appears in DH.

Julian of Macedon is a “love-slave” trapped in an ancient scroll that was eventually bound in book format (no ebooks here!).  He is trapped until someone summons him from which time (full moon to full moon) he is bound to their side to give them whatever pleasure they desire.

Grace Alexander is a straight-laced, practical, I-don’t-believe-in-the-supernatural-although-my-best-friend-Selena-is-a-seer type of gal.

Selena is eccentric, wild, and sexual.  She sees Grace closing in on herself and wants Grace to have fun.  She stumbles onto this book ad decides to give it to Grace for her birthday, hoping one of her spells finally works.

Julian’s a sweetheart, protective, and a gentleman, although sometimes it gets a bit unbelievable.  However, you’re caught up in the pace, humor, and limited time that it doesn’t matter.

Grace is a …sex therapist.  Read and you’ll see why that may be a little odd. She does her job, goes home relaxes, and hangs out with her best friend.  She’s a normal woman living a normal life in New Orleans.  Although, New Orleans seems to be the setting for a lot of paranormal occurrences o.O

At the beginning it’s a bit confusing because Julian seems to enjoy his punishment.  But, hey, if you can’t beat them, join them.  Both protagonists (Grace and Julian) are damaged, although Julian’s damage is his own doing, and Fantasy Lover shows how the two work to overcome their pasts.  There are multiple conflicts; Grace’s disbelief, Julian’s situation, work related dilemmas (for both Grace and Julian) all of which occur while trying to figure out a way to free Julian.

Now, you know if there’s a guy from 149 B.C. stuck in a book a god or gods SOMEwhere has to be involved.  In this case, it’s the Greek gods =) and you know how much I’m a sucker for them.  The gods have updated, modern personalities that’ll make you laugh and really wonder.

I read a few negative reviews for this book, but most of the complaints were about elements that essentially make a good novel.  A guy trapped in a book? Conflict.  A time constraint? Suspense. Paranormal interference? Drama.  Family Squabble?  Drama.  Character interaction?  Character development. Sex? Emotions.

I don’t know what else you want from the book.

Rating: 4 stars

PS

All of my reviews start off with the intention of being one or two paragraphs. -____- FAIL.

3 thoughts on “Fantasy Lover by Sherrilyn Kenyon

  1. Pingback: Night Pleasures Sherrilyn Kenyon « I Like Big Books.

  2. I’m BAAAACK!

    I pretty much read the Dark-Hunters series out of order as well. I started with “Devil May Cry,” moved to “Kiss of the Night” and then started going from #1 up. (Yeah, starting with “Devil May Cry” spoiled a lot of the Acheron story for me…)

    This novel was not the best in the series, but it was a nice read nonetheless. By the way, I totally agree that most of Julian’s problems were his own doing. (Didn’t realize that till you said it though…)

    I’m into Greek mythology and that’s how I stumbled onto her book in the first place. I was looking up stuff about “Artemis” and my library search listed “Devil May Cry” and then I liked the title and then I read it and then…well, you get the picture. IT WAS DESTINY!

    -Rika Ashton

    P.S: My brother hates you right now, cause I’m supposed to be helping him with his Shakespeare biography, but I got distracted when I saw a “new post” email alert…He thinks you should post a review about a math textbook so I won’t be tempted to comment. lol

    • lol *welcome back cookies*

      It’s a fun, easy read. But, (so far) of the DH books Night Pleasures is the weakest for me

      lol, my friend coerced me into reading them..multiple friends actually

      Aw, Shakespeare’s bio is actually one of the easiest so it shouldn’t take you guys long. I DO have multiple math texts. But I took my required courses and I’m not looking back! >_<

Leave a Reply

