Practice Makes Perfect by Julie James

Released: March 3, 2009

Title: Practice Makes Perfect

List Price: $7.99

Author: Julie James

Pages: 304

Publisher: Berkley

Description (her website): WHEN IT COMES TO THE LAWS OF ATTRACTION . . .

Payton Kendall and J.D. Jameson are lawyers who know the meaning of objection. A feminist to the bone, Payton has fought hard to succeed in a profession dominated by men. Born wealthy, privileged, and cocky, J.D. has fought hard to ignore her. Face to face, they’re perfectly civil. They have to be. For eight years they’ve kept a safe distance and tolerated each other as co-workers for one reason only: to make partner at the firm.

. . . THERE ARE NO RULES.

But all bets are off when they’re asked to join forces on a major case. At first apprehensive, they begin to appreciate each other’s dedication to the law—and the sparks between them quickly turn into attraction. But the increasingly hot connection doesn’t last long when they discover that only one of them will be named partner. Now it’s an all out war. And the battle between the sexes is bound to make these lawyers hot under the collar . . .

THOUGHTS:

Payton and J.D. have worked at the same law firm eight years and as far as anyone knows (the firm partners included) the two get along swimmingly.  Lies.  All lies.  At first, the way the description is written, it sounds like Payton has a crush on J.D. and she’s eager to get his attention.  HA.  Ms. James purposely leads the reader in the wrong direction for those few paragraph.  (Very sneaky.)

The dialogue between Payton and J.D. is hilarious and again, I especially like that the legal jargon/references/environment has authenticity.
Payton’s a sort-of-kind-of-I-am-But-I’m-not-as-crazy-as-my-hippie-mother feminist.  J.D. is a supposed spoiled rich brat who doesn’t get anywhere on his own merit.

Clearly, the two have misconceptions of each other because they’re blinded by their competitiveness.  After eight years at the firm and the thinning of the herd, both Payton and J.D. are up for partner.  Only, they’ve never worked together (specializing in different types of law), and then they find out only one of them will make partner, in addition to having to work together to draw a big client to the firm.

The two constantly butt heads and humorously attempt to keep the friendly facade at work.  But, sometimes people go too far and Payton and J.D. have to decide how far is too far.  (Personally, the courtroom scene would have been too far.)

The progression of the relationship is cute, funny, and realistic.  Sometimes their mood swings annoyed me only because I wanted to smack one of them.  But, they were logical reactions to the situation so I couldn’t REALLY be mad.  The use of Pride and Prejudice was a bit weird…but, I found myself echoing J.D.’s words out loud before I actually read them.  (Hmm..I liked his friend.  Is he getting a book??)

It’s a fun read and I only had a few issues.  The relationship with J.D. and his father is mentioned and the lack of relationship between Payton and her father is mentioned.  I know the developing relationship between Payton and J.D. were the focus of the book, but I would’ve have liked to see a bit of exploration there.  OR at the very least, how Payton’s mother and J.D.’s  parents reacted to the conclusion.

By the way, if you ever work in an office keep in mind that the secretaries know everything.  EVERY. THING.

J.D’s a cocky idiot.  Payton’s too stubborn for her own good.  *shrug*  But, they work.

I think it’s funny I stumbled onto these books considering my cousin’s getting married next month and to a lawyer of all people.  (That’s not an insult, it’s just that ‘lawyer’ was on her list of ‘people to be wary’.)

Rating
: 4 stars  (Make sure you check out her new website!!)

PS

*Tomorrow is Lady Isabella’s Scandalous Marriage by Jennifer Ashley.  But, as of now I have nothing for Saturday on because I haven’t finished reading anything.  (I’ve been a horrible person watching anime all day.  I’m trying to be as lazy as possible because classes start soon.)

3 thoughts on “Practice Makes Perfect by Julie James

  1. Pingback: Because of You by Jessica Scott « I Like Big Books.

  2. You’re killing me with all these reviews. You know that, don’t you? I can’t afford to buy this many books! But I appreciate the recommendations for when I get paid next…
    😀

    • lol, hope you like them when you get a chance to read.

      They’ll start slowing down soon because I haven’t finished reading anything lately and classes are going to start up again

Leave a Reply

