Something About You by Julie James

Released: March 2, 2010

Title: Something About You

List Price: $7.99

Author: Julie James

Pages: 336

Publisher: Berkley Sensation

Description (GoodReads): Staying overnight in a luxury hotel, Assistant U.S. Attorney Cameron Lynde overhears a high-profile murder involving a U.S. Senator. Special Agent Jack Pallas is assigned to the investigation-the same Jack Pallas who still blames her for nearly ruining his career three years ago. Now the pair will have to put their rocky past behind them, focus on the case at hand-and smother the flame of their sizzling-hot sexual tension.

THOUGHTS:

This is the first novel I’ve read by this author and I loved it.  The characters, Cameron and Jack have a history, and now must work together or someone’s going to get hurt.

I don’t know if it’s the name or the characters, but I think I have thing for Jacks: Jack Donohue, Captain Jack Sparrow, and now Jack Pallas.

Oh, Ms. James what you do to your readers…

I particularly love that the dress on the cover actually correlates with the dress Cameron wears in the novel and I tweeted this to the author.  She said she rewrote the dress after she saw the cover. HOT. o.o

Cameron and Jack and strong people who know what they want.  But, with Cameron’s life possibly in danger and a scandal in the midst Jack doesn’t have much choice.  He has to stay close to Cameron even if the two might end up killing each other.

Jack’s partner is hilarious.  He says the most random things, but manages to relate it to work.  He’s eager to push Jack’s buttons, but also sees the raw sexual tension (OMG, I felt the tension) between Jack and Cameron and will stop at nothing to tease Jack.

All good fun.  It’s a fun, light read with a potentially dark mystery plot.  Julie James is a former lawyer so she knows what she’s talking about when it comes to the legal terms and situations in this novel and her others.  I liked this bit of authenticity having been previously corrupted by Law & Order and NCIS.

Can’t wait for the next book.  I’m all anxious now.

Rating: 4 ½ stars

PS

Check out Rika Ashton‘s blog for Series Reviews.  She just posted a great review for Gail Carriger‘s steampunk series 🙂

7 thoughts on “Something About You by Julie James

  1. I have a thing for Jacks, too! Captain Jack Sparrow definitely being one of them.

    Anyways, this book sounds awesome. I love books where a the hero/heroine have history, but have to work things out before they can trust each other. I’m putting this on my reading list.

    It’s awesome how she redesigned the dress to correspond with the novel. Sometimes you see a really pretty dress on the cover, and keep waiting for the moment that the heroine’s going to where it and knock the socks off the hero, but it never happens. (Julia Quinn did the same thing in “The Lost Duke of Wyndham” where she changed the eye colour of the heroine from brown to blue after she saw the model. Before this I didn’t even know you were allowed to make changes to the final draft after the book cover had been designed…)

    -Rika Ashton

    P.S: Thanks for the mention!

    • I know!! (Btw POTC 4 is coming out May 20 here)

      Yeah, I honestly thought the cover designer read that part and matched it. But, I was talking to her on twitter (she’s really nice ^_^) and she said she redid the scene after she saw the cover. I thought the same as you, I didn’t know you could edit the MS after the cover was produced. Who knew *shrug*

      you’re welcome 😛

      I’m going to review her other book in a few days (need to finish some stuff for school first…even though..classes didn’t start yet -___- )

      • Lucky! My classes started Jan 4. Oh, the misery 😦

        I can’t wait for Pirates 4! I’ve been so excited since they announced it nearly 2 years ago and finally, I saw the trailer in theatres when I went to watch “Tangled.” It looks EPIC! (I’m going to miss seeing Elizabeth and Will, but I guess it’s okay since they got their happily ever after in the last movie.)

        -Rika Ashton (I still don’t know why I sign my name at the bottom of each comment, since it’s going to come on the top anyways. Habit, I guess.)

        • Lol, I’m kinda excited to see Penelope Cruz only because it’s SO random.

          I ❤ Tangled – have a coloring book and a painting book lol (yes, yes I am 7 yrs old 😛 )

          I had to force myself to stop doing that, but I do it in emails all the time and I don't even have a "signature"

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Something About You by Julie James « I Like Big Books. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

