Firelight by Sophie Jordan

Released: September 7, 2010

Title: Firelight

List Price: $16.99

Author: Sophie Jordan

Pages: 323pgs; Acknowledgments;

Publisher: HarperCollins

Description (GoodReads): Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki—a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.

Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will’s dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away—if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She’ll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.

THOUGHTS:

Jacinda is a draki – not a dragon, but a descendent of dragons – AND she’s a rare draki.  A firebreather.  Yeah, I know, how rare is a fire-breathing dragon?  Well, apparently very because there hadn’t been one born in the last two generations within Jacinda’s pride.  Because of this she has drawn unwanted attention of the pride’s Alpha and his son.

It’s a twist on an arranged marriage because she still has some freedom, but because she is “prized” her daily routine is severely limited.  Jacinda trying to break free – even if only temporarily – is how the novel begins and leads to her meeting Will, who despite being a draki hunter and belong to a family of hunters, lets her go.

The main action starts after this incident.  The Alpha (Severin) is angered because Jacinda exposed the draki to humans and almost endangered the whole pride.  Jacinda’s mom panics and takes Jacinda and her twin sister Tamra away from the pride.  On the run, they hide in a small desert town.  There the mom enrolls Jacinda and Tamra in school where they meet Will and his two cousins.

The little family must hide from the pride, survive even though they have little experience in the human world, and the daughters must acclimate as normal high school students.

Now, my list in the order of how much I hate the characters:

1) THE MOM
2) Severin (The Alpha)
3) Cassian (The Prince)
4) Xander (Cousin)
5) Tamra (Twin)
6) Angus (Cousin)
7) Well honestly, I just really, really hate the mom.

(Just to clarify, I don’t hate the characters because of the writing. I hate them because of their…character.  Their personalities.)

I understand the mother’s motives for removing her children from the pride.  It could be seen as noble (although, honestly, they’re mostly selfish).  But, her method is what pisses me off and make me hate her.  Jacinda is understanding – and at times it feels as if she’s justifying her mother’s actions – but even she knows it’s wrong.

Jacinda’s relationship with her twin is shaky, but the tension is understandable.  However, even with this rift between them, Tamra doesn’t treat Jacinda as horribly as (I think) the mother does.

I can’t even hate Xander and Angus (draki hunters) all that much because even though they kill draki for fun, it’s what they were brought up to believe.  It’s (possibly) understandable.

The budding relationship between Jacinda and Will is part Romeo and Juliet and part The Viscount Who Loved Me.  They want to be together, but can’t because of their families and their past.  Jacinda needs Will to keep her draki alive, but he’s a drake hunter.  Will wants to be with Jacinda, but if he shows his interest it’ll draw his slimy cousin’s attention.

This book is also written in first person, present tense and it flowed well.  I felt Jacinda’s fear, her frustration, and her anger.  I was right there with her.  There are points of disjointed, fragmented thoughts and if you really think about it, that’s how you truly think.  The novel hooked me from the beginning.  I definitely recommend it (young and adult) and the only question I have it: When’s Book 2 coming out??

Rating: 4 stars

PS

3 thoughts on “Firelight by Sophie Jordan

  1. Pingback: What I Did in School Today « I Like Big Books.

  2. I was so weary of reading this because another friend of mine described it as “Twilight with dragons.” (She likes Twilight, so she probably thought is was a compliment, but I didn’t.)

    I’m thinking of giving it a shot though, because you feel the same way about Twilight as I do and still enjoyed the novel, I just might as well. Maybe. Hopefully.

    Oh, and keep the reviews coming. You are giving me so much more reading material. 😀

    -Rika Ashton

    P.S: I posted a new series review as well. I don’t know if you’ve read anything by Gail Carriger yet, but if your liking “Clockwork Angel” by Cassandra Clare which is steampunk-ish, you might like Carriger.

    • It’s not actually. Jacinda actually has a reason for her “moaning and groaning” I just couldn’t mention exactly what it is because it would by a spoiler.

      Will does seem like an Edward-ish character, but it’s not until the very end (although you get hints throughout) hat you get a better understanding of WHY he behaves the way he does. Trust me, it’s not because he’s 109yr old sparkling virgin.

      There’s another book that I’m supposed to review that reminds me of Twilight. So much that I’m having trouble finishing the book and I started it in the summer.

      =)

      I haven’t finished Clockwork Angel yet, but I’m liking it so far and because I’m interested in the concept of the Carriger novels I’m adding it to my TBR 😛

Leave a Reply

