The Making of a Gentleman by Shana Galen

Released: October 1, 2010

Title: The Making of a Gentleman

List Price: $6.99

Author: Shana Galen

Pages: 363pgs; Acknowledgements; Excerpt from The Making of a Rogue; book ads

Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Description (her site because there isn’t one on any other site):

Twelve years in a French prison have left the once dashing Armand Harcourt, Comte de Valère a hollow shell of his former self. Though safely back on English soil, Armand remains locked in a prison of his mind, unable to interact with the glittering social world that was his rightful place. When his family hires the beautiful and determined Felicity Bennett to teach Armand, he is shaken by the onslaught of desire Felicity awakens in him. As Felicity slowly helps reclaim Armand, their passion begins to blossom into a transcendent love capable of healing the scars of both their pasts.

THOUGHTS:

I love her writing style.  It was the first thing that hit me.  This is the first Shana Galen book I’ve read (second in her series).  But, I love the style.  It’s new and refreshing.  Her writing flows, clearly she’s done her research, and I love the details.

I wasn’t sure about the characters’ ages because they seemed a bit young.  But, they ARE young.  Both Armand and Felicity are in their early twenties.  That was also refreshing since a lot of romances have a significant age gap or the characters are nearing thirty.  There’s nothing wrong with that, but it’s nice to know someone believes twenty year olds can fall in love.  (Wow, I sound bitter.  I’m not.  Promise.)

Felicity is hired to tutor Armand and she is purposely misled to believe he is a child.  Yeah, he’s not.  (Look at your cover….he’s SO not.)  She’s hired by Armand’s sister in law – who married his brother in the previous novel.  Despite the brother and the sister-in-law’s continuous attempts and support, they are unable to reach Armand.

He was kidnapped as a child and was held away from society for twelve years.  He has lost all social skills, his voice, and himself.  (Och, I ❤ him.  The poor baby.)  Felicity has to teach him EVERYthing.  Erm…and keep in mind this is a romance.  Imagine what else she has to teach him o.O

Felicity is being blackmailed by a man from her past and Armand is being tortured by his past.  Felicity is strong, tenacious, intelligent, and caring.  Armand is misunderstood, broken, isolated, lost, and protective.

As much as I like Felicity, Armand quickly became one of my top favorite heroes.  Yes, he has all the qualities of the heroes I usually fall for, but I also appreciate the fact that Galen took the time to adequately explore his past, his insecurities, and his path to recovery.  The ending is a particular favorite of mine.  I can’t tell you because…well, it’s the ending.  That would ruin it.

But, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would definitely read her work again.  In fact, I want to read this book again.

Rating: 4 stars

I’ve been trying to find the first book about Armand’s brother because there are references to that novel in this plot even though nothing major is given away.  But, I can’t seem to get my hands on it :/

PS

3 thoughts on “The Making of a Gentleman by Shana Galen

  1. Pingback: Les Miserable and the Newbie + a Giveaway | Priscilla Shay, author

  2. Pingback: Interview With Shana Galen + Giveaway | Priscilla Shay, author

  3. Pingback: The Making of a Duchess by Shana Galen « I Like Big Books.

Leave a Reply

