Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Released: May 25, 2010

Title: Infinity (Chronicles of Nick)

List Price: $17.99

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon aka Kinley MacGregor

Pages: Hardcover; 480pgs

Publisher: St. Martin’s  Griffin

Amazon Product Description: At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity.

Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead.

But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh eating zombies. And he’s next on the menu.

As if starting high school isn’t hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chainsaw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?

Author Bio (from her website): (I’ve decided to take this aspect out because although it’s fun to read…they annoy me to post here.  I don’t know why -___-)

THOUGHTS:

First off, Sherrilyn Kenyon’s an awesome woman.  She loves manga, she writes like crazy, she’s pretty funny, and she uses mythology.  FYI, I’m a mythology chick.  Basically, she now has to accept me as a stalker for life =)

Nick Gautier (I can almost guarantee you’re pronouncing his name wrong) is first introduced in Ms. Kenyon’s adult paranormal romance series (Dark-Hunter) as an adult with a secretive past.  He’s quirky, rude, and sarcastic, but he has a soft underbelly you just want to poke until he spills all his secrets (might just be me though).

My friend went to ComiCon 2010 and she got the first two manga-fied (I don’t think that’s a word…) volumes of Dark-Hunter.  I read those, then I read the original novel.  THEN, I go to class the next day and a girl walking down the hall is reading Infinity.  I was like “What the heck? She’s stalking me!” (Egotistical, I know.)

But, I actually knew the girl.  Sort of.  We’d stop and talk about books in the middle of the hallway and keep walking.  Anywho, we were talking about Infinity and I decided to try it.  My friend (the one who went to ComiCon) let me borrow her copy.

It kept me hooked, so much so that I was on page 114 (Chapter 5) before I knew it.  The only reason I put that book down was because it was 3am and I has to go to school for 9am for work.  It took me a while to finish, but not because it’s bad.  My classes, essays, and midterms got in the way.  School is the bane of my reading existence.

Nick is still sarcastic, but not as rude because his Mamma would smack him silly.  He’s definitely quirky especially when you find out who his friends are, his ancestry, his –

Oh, my GOSH! The twist towards the END!  I was shocked, confused, flustered, annoyed, curious, pulling my hair out.  I was trying to figure out how it was POSSIBLE (still don’t know by the way…).

Kenyon’s quick wit, style, and humor are definitely present in Infinity.  The relationships are interesting, but I especially loved the one between Nick and his mother.  It’s sort of an ideal relationship because I’m sure many mothers would like their sons to turn out like Nick, but not as many do.

There isn’t much I can tell you without spoiling the book because almost everything is connected.  But, I do want to read the rest of the series AND the rest of Dark-Hunter.

My issues:

Erm…I have to wait until March for the next one? Oh, and I just read her website: Twelve books in the Chronicles of Nick series, woman, are you crazy?  I hope I don’t have to wait ten years to read all of them :/

Rating: 4 ½ stars

PS

 

One thought on “Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

  1. Pingback: What I Did in School Today « I Like Big Books.

Leave a Reply

