Spike and Declarations of Love

Again, I totally blame @ravina_evans for this post.  A while back she tweeted about the show Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  (If you’re too young…or too old, wiki it.)  It’s better than Twilight people.

We both love Spike (the character…not so much the actor in other roles).  We posted a few quotes and it got me thinking.  Buffy, a tiny, kick-ass, blonde slayer originally had a thing going with Angel


– the vampire cursed with a soul.  But, Angel got a spin-off.  Guess what it was called.  Really, guess.


In comes Spike,


the villainous, comic-relief, anti-hero, love interest.   What does he do?  Foil Angel at every turn.  But, apparently, Angel was such a likeable character that he was given his own show – effectively removing him from Buffy’s life and leaving room for Spike to wreak havoc as he liked.  And he liked – A LOT :3

Now, I understand that television series have more time to develop their characters and they’re given more leeway that novelists.  But, I think Spike’s character and dialogue is nothing short of amazing.  *insert fan girl squeal*  Why, yes, I am a bit obsessed with Spike.

He’s funny.  The lines are delivered with quick wit and perfect timing.

“Dracula? Poncy bugger owes me £11, for one thing,” because Dracula tossed Spike’s signed copy of Bram Stoker’s Dracula in a fire in 1898.  How awesome are you that Dracula owes you money? (I’m being silly I know)

And funny coincidence, his pre-sired name was William!  *Sigh* It’s coincidence I tell you.

He started out as a supporting character.  To be honest, I don’t think he was supposed to last more than a few episodes.  Buffy was supposed to stake him and move onto the next vamp bearing down on their little town.  His fan base grew and..BAM!

“You’re not friends. You’ll never be friends. You’ll be in love till it kills you both. You’ll fight, and you’ll shag, and you’ll hate each other until it makes you quiver, but you’ll never be friends. Love isn’t brains, children, it’s blood — blood screaming inside you to work its will. I may be love’s bitch, but at least I’m man enough to admit it”

I need to stop before I ramble and never end.  Basically, I LOVE SPIKE! There, I said it.  I’m man enough to admit that. 😛

Now, the point of this post:

Spike: “ You listen to me. [Kneels in front of her] I’ve been alive a bit longer than you, and dead a lot longer than that. I’ve seen things you couldn’t imagine, and done things I prefer you didn’t. I don’t exactly have a reputation for being a thinker. I follow my blood, which doesn’t exactly rush in the direction of my brain. So I make a lot of mistakes, a lot of wrong bloody calls. A hundred plus years, and there’s only one thing I’ve ever been sure of: you. [Buffy looks away; he reaches toward her face] Hey, look at me. I’m not asking you for anything. When I say, “I love you,” it’s not because I want you or because I can’t have you. It has nothing to do with me. I love what you are, what you do, how you try. I’ve seen your kindness and your strength. I’ve seen the best and the worst of you. And I understand with perfect clarity exactly what you are. You’re a hell of a woman. You’re the one, Buffy.”

Even if you don’t know the show, never heard of Spike, or watched T.V in your life you’re still able to see and feel the emotion behind his words.  It wasn’t a cliché, cheesy, aw it warms your heart, declaration.  It was romantic, yet straight forward.  He listed her attributes that he liked, but he didn’t praise her physical features.

All romance novels have a happy ending.  It’s part of what makes them romance novels.  But, lately (or maybe forever) the endings have been cheesy.  The guy kind of renounces everything about his character in the end, expounds the heroine’s physical assets, says “I love you”, and they ride off into the sunset.

I don’t know, it always leaves me with something lacking.  To be fair, I do occasionally read a romance where the ending is happy, but also leaves room for character improvement (*coughTESSADAREcough*).  I love those endings because they’re like real life.  Not everything is wrapped up in a neat little bow because there’s a ring and a few vows exchanged.  Also, this totally supports my theory about characters continuing to live well after we stop reading.

Plus, Spike is the ultimate bad-boy-turn-good. 😉

I could only hope that my writing and my characters are as developed as Spike.

Comments?  Thoughts?

– PS

* I don’t have internet yet…I’m siphoning my cousin’s =)

6 thoughts on “Spike and Declarations of Love

  1. My best friend and I actually talked about how much we love Spike yesterday while shopping! And when she brought it up, it made me think about how I had recently read your article about how AMAZING Spike is (he TOTALLY wins over Angel any day!)

    I swear, Spike and Buffy had one of THE most intense/interesting/romantic relationship.

    • lol, awesome. Spike is…yummy… He went from Good (as a human) to bad (as a human lol) to bad vampire, scorned vampire in love, undecided vampire, forced-neutered vampire, bad vampire, to good-ish vampire. lol, he was never actually COMPLETELY good. Which is a major reason I’d totally base any of my villains on him…but then again, I could base my heroes on him too o.O

      • I think his character is brilliant. He isn’t too goody goody, and he’s not a total badass (okay, he’s pretty badass, but he’s not your typical “evil” character) – and I think that’s why so many people sympathize and love his character. There is just something about him that is so likeable!

        • he IS! Angel had the whole conflict of conscience-oh-no-have-a-soul! thing going…he irritated me after awhile, lol. I don’t there wasn’t much to do with his character..he was good…that’s it. The journey was basically him getting his soul or …something..I don’t really remember. But, this is hilarious:

Leave a Reply

