Random update!

I went to a Scholarship Dinner at my school tonight.  (In which I look ridiculously cute, but the camera was in another state.) I met one of the donors and she seems to have taken a liking to me.  My mother said if the woman’s willing to adopt me, she’s ok with that.  (Thanks, mom, really.)

But!  Onto more exciting news!!

A few days ago (I would’ve updated, but I was still reeling from the shock) a professor of mine from last year e-mailed me with the subject “congratulations!”

Now, backstory:

Last month, around the middle of March when all the midterms and papers were due the English Department decided to have a writing contest.  There were different awards and categories; novel, short story, fiction, poetry, non-fiction, literary analysis, non-fiction thesis, etc.

I really wanted to submit a piece, but didn’t have the time because once again school came first.  But, I had a story I had written the semester before for my Fiction Writing class (Forget Me Not).  It was written in first person and I wanted to edit and rewrite it in third person because I write better in third person.  Anywho, when it came down to it I didn’t get a chance to rewrite because my midterms were all due on the same day as the deadline.  I ended up printing out what I had and handing it in a MINUTE before the deadline.

Back to the e-mail.

Apparently….I WON!

Ok, well, I don’t know exactly what I won because it wasn’t for the thing I applied for.  But, I WON!  FOR WRITING!  How shocked and in awe am I?

The award ceremony is next Wednesday at noon.  And whatever it is I’ll take a picture and post it ^o^

Ok, so I was still on a high, bouncing off walls and what not.  Then, the nest morning I check my e-mail again (I’m obsessed, I know) before I go to class.  What’s in my inbox?  An e-mail from the English Department chairperson…who also happens to be the professor we’ve been working with to get the college Literary Magazine up and running.  Throughout the semester we’ve collected and edited fiction, poetry and artwork submitted by the college students.

And the e-mail said…it was being sent to the printer!!!  YAY!!!

He attached the “proof” copy…and my name’s in it as an editor!!!!!

Woah.  @.@ That honestly just made my week.

PS

9 thoughts on “Random update!

  1. Hey Priscilla!

    I’m in the middle of reading Willful Wisdom and I love it! (currently on Ch. 18) It always surprises me when I find good Regency era fictions on FictionPress because there is so much technicalities you have to get down to make it true to the time period. I’ll be posting a full review on the last chapter once I’m done reading!

    I’m an English Writing major like you! So it was also fun to learn that you were going to college for the same thing! Congrats on the contest and the lit mag!

    I think I’ll subscribe to your blog!

    • Awesome! 🙂 I’m so excited to get a new perspective on the story. Hope you’re enjoying it and I’m definitely looking forward to your review.

      Thanks! The contest and lit mag were so much fun

      Def subscribe 🙂 I’ll be posting a bunch of book reviews soon (I’m just waiting for my friend to finish One Dance With a Duke…I don’t want to give her any spoilers!)

  2. Hey Priscilla!

    I’m in the middle of reading Willful Wisdom and I love it! (currently on Ch. 18) It always surprises me when I find good Regency era fictions on FictionPress because there is so much technicalities you have to get down to make it true to the time period. I’ll be posting a full review on the last chapter once I’m done reading!

    I’m an English Writing major like you! So it was also fun to learn that you were going to college for the same thing! Congrats on the contest and the lit mag!

    I think I’ll subscribe to you’re blog!

  3. CONGRATS!!! That is really, really great news! Will this piece of yours be pubbed in the school magazine? Once it is could you post it up on your blog???? I want to read it!!

    Again, congratulations. This is great news! To be awarded for your writing… it means you have talent!!! (I knew that all along of course).

    • !!! ^_^ Thanks

      No, it’s not going to be published in the magazine, I’m just listed in the magazine as an editor and I edited the works that are being published within the magazine.

      I could post the story though.

      Thanks!!! 🙂

      How’s the revisions going?

Leave a Reply

