Confessions of a Wayward Author

*sigh*

Okay, so you know how I was starting WW edits/rewrites since February? (or was it January?)  Honestly, I HAVE been trying.  I have the new outline (20 chapters plus an epilogue), I solidified titles, names, personalities, and locations.  I know who lives and who dies (for the most part, there’s one person I’m not 100% on).  I’ve even been thinking about the bigger picture, trying to connect Will, Nick, and Michael’s stories through a common thread.  (Perhaps a common antagonist?)

But, all this thinking and planning is not actually writing for the story.  Between the five Writing Intensive classes, Michael’s job, tutoring job, and trying to keep up with the Literary Magazine….I’m burned out.

And thus, I’ve come to a conclusion.  A conclusion I am extremely unhappy with.  It perturbs me actually.

I know, I know.  A good author is supposed to MAKE TIME to write.  But, to be honest, if I fail out of college  I won’t have much time to write regardless because I’ll be working three part-time jobs just to pay the rent since my parents will have kicked me out.

Sadly, school comes first and writing will have to take a backseat for a bit.

BRIGHTSIDE:  The semester ends in 4 1/2 weeks (only 4 weeks if we don’t count the last 2 days of this week.  Which, I don’t want to …so four weeks!)

Unfortunately (obviously) this means, my querying goal will be delayed …as I have nothing with which to query. o.O

BUT!

May 20, I’ll be a writing machine!

I’ll set a regiment and I won’t sleep until I reach the day’s goal.  If I become a zombie-typing, paper- eating, ink-stained, nutrition-deprived hermit, so be it!

Until then, fare thee well.

– PS

(Unless I actually finish “The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie”, then I’ll be back with a review.  It’s go well so far.)
I welcome it all in the pursuit of a great novel! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Wayward Author

  1. *SIGH* Oh well…. one must not risk one’s entire future for the sake of writing. Yes yes yes. School must come first. I should learn from you. I put writing first and look at my grades now. It dropped to the abyss! And I had to scramble to get ready for my exams.

    Good to know that you’ll have time in by May!!!

    • but you’re finished now, right? *sigh* I made this little announcement…then had overwhelming urges to write 😦 They’re being mean to me again and not giving a wit about my academic career. Collingsworth sneaked his way in and had me rewriting the epilogue, one closer to the end of the main story, from his POV as a lead-in to his story…

      Evil, evil men I tell you

Leave a Reply

