01/04/10 – The Infamous Rogue

Hola!  Happy New Year!

January 4, 2010 Word of the Day: Ackenpucky – any food mixture of unknown ingredients.

Well, I haven’t been on much because there was a death in the family and I lost my wallet.  But, updates:

I wrote the new prologue for WW and I THINK I’m okay with it.  I don’t know.  I’ll post it as a teaser later and I’ll let you guys tell me what you think.  I think it allows more insight into Sophia and her childhood, but I think the main thing that’s bothering me is the writing itself.

I’m still thinking about making Will an Earl and Bromfield a Duke.

I think I’m using the rules as epigraphs in the second draft.

Oh, and I learned a few things.  Try as I might, Will and Bromfield are NOT manwhores.  Who knew?  Will is too work oriented to take part in frivolous activities and only partakes if there is a lull between cases.  Bromfield, he, well, he’s just too closed off to let anyone in.  That is, not to say that he’s a virgin, but he’s not a slut either.  I wonder if male protagonists who are not known for their sexual prowess can survive in the romance world.

And for June, a book review:

The Infamous Rogue by Alexandra Benedict

“They paid no mind to society’s prying eyes . . .

The daughter of a wealthy bandit, Sophia Dawson once lost herself in the arms of Black Hawk, the most infamous pirate ever to command the high seas. But now, determined to put her sinful past behind her, she prepares to enter society as the bride of a well-born nobleman who knows nothing of her scandalous youth. All goes according to plan until her ex-lover—now a respectable sea captain but just as handsome and dangerous as ever—appears and once again tempts her with desire.

From the moment he sees Sophia again, James Hawkins wants only one thing: Revenge. He’ll see to it that the reckless beauty pays for abandoning their heated affair. And so begins a battle of wills that can end only in utter ruin . . . or wicked surrender . . .”

I stumbled across this book while I was searching amazon.com for something to read.  The summary intrigued me because 1) there aren’t many (if any) stories of two pirates’ children hooking up.  There’s the pirate son becoming attached to a lady or a pirate’s daughter falling for a Captain, but never a pirate’s son falling for a pirate’s daughter.

There were a couple of reasons I like and would definitely recommend the book.

1) The main characters are strong, engaging and witty.  Sophia is a pirate’s daughter at heart.  Try as she might to act as a lady, the pirate inside always comes out.  And James “Blackhawk” Hawkins certainly was not helping her hide that side of her.  In fact, he begged her to allow him to “let her breathe”.  James, albeit a pirate, is a man of honor and family.  He would do anything to protect his family and provide for them, even if it means sacrificing himself.

The banter and chemistry between Sophia and James is real.  At times you hate the person you love, you might even want to kill them (in Sophia’s case, TRY), but in the end your love for them causes you to accept their faults (no matter how irritating they are).

And, to be honest, they were funny as hell.

2) Speaking of funny.  James’ family.  His brothers were HILARIOUS.  The youngest, while unable to keep his tongue in his mouth, provided comic relief.  Each brother has their own personality and does not need to depend on the other to have character.  They also have a sister, but she isn’t mention much in this novel.  (I suspect this is because she already has a book of her own.)

3)  There were curses.  Swear words.  Profanity.  Inappropriate language for those under 13 (according to American standards).  The F*** word, Sh** word (James has quite colorful language).

Benedict’s use of coarse language made me feel better about my writing.  While we all like to think British literature and Regency/Victorian England had proper, formal people, not everyone was like that.  Some people cursed.  Some used language that would shame their mothers.  But, they used it nonetheless, and I was slightly proud to see an author include this aspect of language/people in a novel.

(Also, it reminded me a review I once received that said I had too much cursing in WW and I had to defend my use of certain words.  Guys, the “F” word was NOT invented recently.  It’s been around for a while.)

4)  The writing style flowed.  The characters had history, but the writing kept you in the present.  There are also descriptions that had me feeling what the character felt.  At the beginning there is an instance where James feels someone staring at him and the description was so apt I shivered.

Then, there are instances that bothered me.

A lot of the dialogue and descriptions weren’t “Regency” speak.  They were modernisms slipped into a Historical Romance.  While I got over that and kept reading, if you’re a stickler for historical language being used in HR, then this might put you off.

Then, there was the face that it was randomly mentioned James was hitting 40, while Sophia was 27 (mind you their affair took place 7yrs ago).  I have nothing against older people finding love, I’m all for it.  But, the random mention of ages and James’ reaction caused me to pause.

It was only after I started the book did I discover it was a part of a series and that there is a prequel ebook chronicling Sophia and James’ time on the island before everything went wrong.  Because the ebook is written and not much of their time on the island is shown in the book, I have to give it 3 ½ stars.  I know the main characters love each other, but I would have liked to see more of how that came to be.  The novel jumped right into their “reunion romance” and the reader is only given glimpses of their past.

Also, I’m off to find the first book written (about James’ sister) not even for the heroine, but for the hero, Damien because he seems awesome and I loved to meet him!

(I’ll post a review of Highland Bride by Hannah Howell for you tomorrow)

Now, I’m off to sleep because I have work tomorrow.  Enjoy!

PS

2 thoughts on “01/04/10 – The Infamous Rogue

  1. Wooow thanks for posting!!! I..hope you didn’t think I was forcing you to write this. I know how busy you must be!!! But thanks a lot for writing this review. Sounds very interesting. Though, right now, as I’m trying to get a better grasp of the regency language, I’d probably be put off…BUT I’m always up for a good romance.

    Oooh I’ll go read your prologue tomorrow. Got a notification.

    • 🙂 You’re welcome! No silly, I had fun writing it (had fun reading the book too)

      Don’t worry about it. If you hadn’t reminded me to post a review I might not have.

      Oh, you have no idea how many notes are in my margins that say “Regency language??”

      I’d really appreciate feedback on the prologue when you have a chance. I’m not confident about it..blah

Leave a Reply

