NaNoWriMo – Day 11

NaNoWriMo Day 11 – Huh, I’m still behind (I think Day 12’a goal is supposed to be 20,004), but I’m writing!

You know what’s making my head hurt, though?  Picking my schedule for next semester.  I THINK I MIGHT have gotten a job (I don’t know yet).  If I did, I need to make sure it doesn’t conflict with my classes, but that I also have time to do my work.  I want to take five classes (17credits) next semester, and from what I see most of the classes will be at night.  The only question is: will I be able to keep up with the work?  Hopefully.  *sigh*

So, I posted the second chapter of LTL on FP.  Go read it.  Haha.

I had other thoughts, but I’ve forgotten them.

I have a Writing Prompt!! Whoo! It’s been a while hasn’t it?  August I believe.

So, here’s the deal.  I don’t remember how, but I stumbled onto this website that has children’s nursery rhymes and their connections to history.  For example, ‘Ring Around the Rosies, Pocket Full of Posies’ is actually about the Black Plague.

Now, the prompt.  You can pick one of your own, but I’m just going to give you one.  Using this nursery rhyme (these lyrics):

Three blind mice, three blind mice,
See how they run, see how they run,
They all ran after the farmer’s wife,
Who cut off their tails with a carving knife,
Did you ever see such a thing in your life,
As three blind mice?

The history: The origins of the lyrics to this nursery rhyme are in English history. The ‘farmer’s wife’ refers to Queen Mary I, otherwise known as ‘Bloody Mary’ the reference to ‘farmer’s wife’ alludes to the massive farming estates which she possessed and those of her husband, Philip of Spain. The ‘three blind mice’ were three noblemen who were plotting against the Queen – she did not have them dismembered and blinded as inferred in the rhyme – but she did have them burnt at the stake!

Write a short story (or longer if you feel so inclined), using this rhyme, incorporating the history, and/or explaining the rhyme/history.

Enjoy! I think it would be fun.  For my short story (ugh, that’s due next week) I’m using the myth behind the flower “Forget-Me-Not” as a backdrop.

When I remember the rest of what I wanted to say I’ll come back.

PS

Leave a Reply

