The Time Traveler’s Wife

 The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

This was her debut novel which (according to Wikipedia), “frustrated in love when she began the work, wrote the story as a metaphor for her failed relationships.”

            It is a love story about a man (Henry DeTamble) who is a librarian with a genetic disorder that causes him to time travel unpredictably, and about his wife (Claire Abshire), an artist who has to cope with his frequent absences and dangerous experiences.
            I absolutely loved this book.  It touches on various aspects of love, relationships and it really makes you think.  Can love transcend time?  Can you be in love with someone for your whole life?  Do you ever really know everything about a person?
            Also, since Henry is a librarian and Claire is an artist there are a lot of literary and artistic references.  If anything, the book is very educational. 
            There were a few things that bothered me about the book however.  It was written in first person, from both Henry and Claire’s points of views, which is fine.  But, when the perspectives changed, it was Henry: “Then his thoughts/dialogue”.  I think it would’ve been clearer/easier to read if it was,

Henry

“Then his thoughts/dialogue”

            The second thing is the title of the book is “The Time Traveler’s Wife”.  This gives the impression that the book is mostly about Claire and how she deals with the love of her life (literally) disappearing without a moment’s notice.  But, most of the scenes where Henry’s – which is understandable because he is the time traveler, but still.  Maybe another title would’ve worked.  Then again, I may be the only one bothered by this.

The plot was interesting (you really have to keep a close eye on the dates and ages), it kept me captivated.  The story may seem unrealistic and fantastical, but the love between Henry and Claire is so believable.  I wanted it.  I want what they had. 

Some parts really made me tear up, especially towards the end.  I don’t know what else to tell you because if I keep rambling I’ll spill the secrets of an amazing novel and I don’t want to do that.

This book is definitely a must read: 4 stars.

PS

2 thoughts on “The Time Traveler’s Wife

  1. It did drag a bit, but I was more attracted to the overall concept. And like you said..it was her debut novel.. I also think the circumstances leading to her writing this novel were pretty irnoic too. But, I heard her next book is a letdown

  2. I found that this book began to drag. It was a fun read though. And I’m amazed that it’s her debut novel. A debute novel that is now a movie……*sigh*

Leave a Reply

